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A Review of State Efforts to Respond to Teen Dating Violence 

 

This document serves as a supplemental attachment to the report submitted under House 

Resolution 12 (HR12).  

HR 12 requested the Domestic Violence Coordinating Council (DVCC) to examine the 

expansion of domestic violence, teen dating violence, and sexual violence advocacy and legal 

services to minors. With the assistance of a student intern from the University of Delaware, the 

DVCC was able to compile information about each state’s laws and efforts to address the issue 

of teen dating violence. 

The information includes information about access to civil protective orders; access to legal 

representation; access to mental health services; access to community-based supportive services 

for victims of dating violence; and, educational requirements and programs. Some states had 

evidence-based programs, or evidence informed practices, to note  

Domestic violence, teen dating abuse, sexual assault, and stalking are complicated and complex 

issues that requires a comprehensive and multidisciplinary approach.  Delaware is not alone in 

our efforts to address the problem of teen dating violence. We recognize the victim advocacy 

field is discipline which is constantly evolving.  There are on-going efforts with public policy 

and legislative changes; as well as increased efforts with public awareness and educational 

programs. State statutes are constantly changing. Evidence-informed practices may be 

developing. Please independently verify the information found in this document. 

 

 

https://legis.delaware.gov/BillDetail?LegislationId=47606
https://legis.delaware.gov/BillDetail?LegislationId=47606


Alabama 

Legal Age Statutes: Age of Majority: 19 

Eligibility for Emancipation: 18 
Contracts by Minors: Minor 15 or more at nearest birthday may 

contract for life, health, accident insurance; however, not bound 
by any unperformed agreement to pau premium 
Minors’ Ability to Sue: May sue through personal 

representative, next friend, or guardian ad litem 
Consent for Medical Treatment: 14 without parental permission 

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

 
 

Who Can File: 

• Must be 18 or older or otherwise emancipated. A parent, 

legal guardian, “next friend” or the State Department of 
Human Resources may file on behalf of a minor 

Relationship: 

• Current and former spouses, those with mutual children, 
current or former household members, and those in a dating 
relationship or in a dating relationship that ended within the 

last 12 months, may file against each other. 
Teen-Specific Provisions: 

• The court may order the respondent to stay away from the 
petitioner’s home, school, place of work, or any other place 
the court decides. Additionally, the court may order the 

respondent to stay away from the petitioner’s children and 
family. 

Access to Legal Representation: Law: 

• Alabama law only mentions providing legal representation 

to minors in defense cases. 
Programs: 

• None 

Access to Mental Health Services: Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• Minors may consent to mental health services at 14 
Programs: 

• Family Sunshine Center: 

- Offers support groups in 8 counties  
- Services offered to minors 3-18 
- Sessions last 12 to 16 weeks 

- Focus on recovery and healing 
- S.T.R.E.N.G.T.H. (Strength Through Resilience, 

Encouragement, Nurturing, Growth, Teaching, and 

Hope) is a specific program for anyone under 18 
who has experienced violence 

Access to Community Support 
Services: 

• Alabama Coalition Against Domestic Violence:  
- Offers online resources to teens 

- Defines dating violence 

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

Law: 

• Alabama law does not require schools to have teen dating 

violence education in their curriculum, although, they do 
encourage it. 

Programs: 

• Family Sunshine Center: 
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Sources:  

• Family Sunshine Center: www.familysunshine.org 

• Alabama Coalition Against Domestic Violence: www.acadv.org 

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit: States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order, 2015 

 

- Offers presentations that teach students and 
educators how to recognize and prevent violence 

- Covers dating violence, healthy relationships, and 

personal safety 
- Offers the Safe Dates curriculum  
- Expect Respect is a  student leadership program 

used in middle and high schools. Students go 
through an 8-week leadership program to learn 

about healthy relationships and leadership skills. 
Students plan and implement prevention programs 
in their schools and communities 

• The Red Flag Campaign is used in college and secondary 
education campuses to teach bystander intervention for 
unhealthy relationships. 

State Coalition: Called: N/A  

Knowledge of programs: N/A 
Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 

http://www.familysunshine.org/
http://www.acadv.org/
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf


Alaska 

Legal Age Statutes: Age of Majority: 18 

Eligibility for Emancipation: 16 
Contracts by Minors: May receive and give full discharge for 

insurance payments up to $3,000 if 16 and over. 
Minors’ Ability to Sue: By representative, guardian ad litem, or 
next friend (CR 17 (c)).  

Consent for Medical Treatment: If living apart from parents or if 
parent of child, minor may give own consent.  

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

 
 
 

Who Can File: 

• Minors will need a parent or guardian to file on their behalf 

Relationship: 

• Current and former spouses, those who live or have lived 
together, individuals currently or formerly dating, relatives 

by blood or marriage, and those who have or once had a 
sexual relationship may file against each other 

Teen-Specific Provisions: 

• No school stay-away provision 

Access to Legal Representation: 
 
 
 

 
Source: https://www.womenslaw.org/laws/ak/restraining-orders 

Law: 

• In protection order cases involving minors, the court may 
appoint a guardian ad litem or attorney to represent the 

minor, although it is not required. (Alaska Statute 
§18.66.100(a)). 

Programs: 

• None 

Access to Mental Health Services: Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• Minors must have consent from parent or guardian, unless 
emancipated, to access mental health treatment.  

Programs: 

• Alaska Department of Education & Early Development 
- Encourages school-based and school-linked mental 

health services 
- Recommends short-term individual and group 

counseling 

Access to Community Support 
Services: 

• Talk Now Talk Often:  
- Statewide effort developed by parents and 

caregivers 

- Helps increase conversations about healthy 
relationships with teens  

- Aims to assist in fostering healthy adolescent 

relationships into adulthood  

• Itsnotcool.me: 
- Educational website specifically for Alaskan youth 

- Offers facts about teen dating violence 
- Gives advice for helping a friend in an abusive 

relationship 

- Describes healthy and unhealthy relationships 
- Offers 24-hour hotline for teens 

• Abused Women’s Aid in Crisis (AWAIC): 
- Invests in evidence-based prevention strategies  
- Offers community-based education to Anchorage 

students, other youth, professionals who interact 

https://www.womenslaw.org/laws/ak/restraining-orders
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with victims of violence, and other community 
members 

- In 2018, AWAIC provided 146 presentations to 

4,870 youth, 25 trainings to 597 professionals, and 
69 presentations to 2,593 community members 

• Interior Alaska Center for Non-Violent Living: 

- Prevention program offers education and training 
to schools, businesses, and other organizations 

- Cover many topics including healthy relationships 
and domestic violence 

- Offers age appropriate activities and materials  

- All programs are free of charge.  

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 

Source: 

http://dhss.alaska.gov/dph/wcfh/Pages/adolescent/default.aspx 

Law: 

• Alaska law requires the governing body of each school 
district to adopt and implement policy, establishing training 

and education for school employees and students, regarding 
dating violence. (Alaska Statutes, Title 14. Education, 
Libraries, and Museums §14.30.356. Dating violence and 

abuse policy, training, awareness, prevention, and notices) 
Programs: 

• The Fourth R for Healthy Relationships: 
- Goals of reducing dating violence among boys and 

acts of violence toward peers.  

- School based program designed to reduce violence 
- Based off the premise that relationships skills are 

as important as the other three “R’s” (Reading, 

wRiting, and aRithmetic). 
- Teaches through interactive methods such as role 

play 

- Program consists of 21-lessons in three units 
- Designed for grades 7-9 

• Bringing in the Bystander Intervention: 
- Bystander education and training on intervention 
- Developed by the University of New Hampshire 

Innovations Research Center 
- For college students  
- Delivered in a 90-minute interactive session 

- Provides participants with skills to help them act 
when witnessing behavior that puts others at risk 
for victimization, violence, and perpetration.  

- Offered by The University of Alaska Anchorage 
Student Health and Counseling Center 

State Coalition: Called: N/A  

Knowledge of programs: N/A 
Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 
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Sources:  

• The Fourth R for Healthy Relationships: 

http://dhss.alaska.gov/dph/wcfh/Pages/adolescent/Fourth-R.aspx 

• Brining in the Bystander Intervention: 

http://dhss.alaska.gov/dph/wcfh/Pages/adolescent/Bringing-In-the-Bystander.aspx 

• Talk Now Talk Often: http://www.tntoak.org/ 

• itsnotcool.me: www.itsnotcool.me  

• Abused Women’s Aid in Crisis (AWAIC): http://www.awaic.org/ 

• Interior Alaska Center for Non-Violent Living: http://www.iacnvl.org/iac-services 

• Alaska Department of Education & Early Development: 

www.education.alaska.gov/schoolcounselbhlth 

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit: States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order, 2015 

  

 

 

 

http://dhss.alaska.gov/dph/wcfh/Pages/adolescent/Fourth-R.aspx
http://dhss.alaska.gov/dph/wcfh/Pages/adolescent/Bringing-In-the-Bystander.aspx
http://www.tntoak.org/
http://www.itsnotcool.me/
http://www.awaic.org/
http://www.iacnvl.org/iac-services
http://www.education.alaska.gov/schoolcounselbhlth
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf


Arizona 

Legal Age Statutes: Age of Majority: 18 (§1-215) 

Eligibility for Emancipation: At 16, minors are eligible if self-
sufficient 

Contracts by Minors: Common law (§47-1103) 
Minors’ Ability to Sue: By guardian or special administrator, 
guardian ad litem, next friend (§A.R.S.R. Civ. Pro. 17(g)) 

Consent for Medical Treatment: If homeless, married, or 
emancipated 

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

 

Who Can File: 

• Minors may only file on their own behalf if filing against a 

parent, guardian, or person who has legal custody over 
them, or if parent/guardian is unavailable. Otherwise, a  
parent or guardian will have to file on behalf of the minor.  

Relationship: 

• Current and former spouses, relatives by blood or marriage, 
those who have or had a romantic or sexual relationship, 

individuals who live or have lived together, and those with 
mutual children may file against each other  

Teen-Specific Provisions: 

• The court may order the respondent to stay away from the 
petitioner’s place of work, school, or any other place the 

court deems reasonable. Additionally, the court may 
restrain the respondent from contacting the petitioner and 
any other specified persons.  

Access to Legal Representation: 
 

 
 
 

Law: 

• Arizona law only mentions providing legal representation to 
minors in defense cases 

Programs: 

• Children’s Law Center: 
- Offers the Free Advice Clinic for Teens (FACT) 
- Provides youth with an opportunity to meet with a 

volunteer lawyer 
- Attorneys may visit other community sites 

Access to Mental Health Services: Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• Minors will need consent from a parent or guardian to 
access mental health services (Arizona Revised Statutes 
Title 36. Public Health and Safety § 36-2272) 

Programs: 

• None 

Access to Community Support 
Services: 

• Safe Teens AZ:  
- Offers online resources to Arizona teens regarding 

dating violence 

- Analyzes why teen dating violence often goes 
unnoticed  

- Provides early warning signs of abusive behavior 
- Tells teens what to do if they believe they are in an 

abusive relationship 

• Bloom365: Teen Dating Violence Prevention- 7-Dose 
Bloom It Up Experience:  

- Comprehensive public health approach for teen 

dating violence prevention 
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Sources:  

• Safe Teens AZ: http://safeteensaz.org/dating-violence/ 

• Bloom 365: Teen Dating Violence Prevention- 7-Dose Bloom It Up Experience: 

https://www.bloom365.org/activation 

• Kaity’s Way: https://kaitysway.org 

• Children’s Law Center: http://clsaz.org/childrens_law.html 

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit: States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order, 2015 

- Provides advocacy through chatline, text, and 
zoom 

- Presents ongoing opportunities to connect with 

peers  
- Weekly open and closed support groups 
- Additionally, offers homework help, 

transportation, and basic needs support 
- All services are free of charge and available in 

both school and community-based sites  

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 

Source:  https://www.ncsl.org/research/health/teen-dating-

violence.aspx 

Law: 

• Arizona law allows school districts to incorporate dating 
abuse education into current health education curriculum 

(Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §15-712.01) 
Programs: 

• Kaity’s Way:  

- Offers classroom-based presentations to 
adolescents 

- Talks about the pattern of abuse in dating 

relationships, the importance of healthy 
relationships, exposes the warning signs of abusive 

relationships, and offers options to safely leave 
abusive relationships 

- Supplies students with brochures and literature to 

help bring awareness and educate 
- All program’s services are free of charge and 

flexible to fit within class times 

State Coalition: Called: N/A 

Knowledge of programs: N/A 
Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 

http://safeteensaz.org/dating-violence/
https://www.bloom365.org/activation
https://kaitysway.org/
http://clsaz.org/childrens_law.html
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf


Arkansas 

Legal Age Statutes: Age of Majority: 18 

Eligibility for Emancipation: 16 
Contracts by Minors: Rescission by infant 18 or over permitted 

only upon full restitution; promise made after full age to pay 
debt contracted during infancy must be in writing 
Minors’ Ability to Sue: Next friend or guardian 

Consent for Medical Treatment: Any minor who is married, 
emancipated, incarcerated, or sufficiently intelligent to 
understand consequences of consent.  

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

 
 

Who Can File: 

• Minors must have an adult family or household member file 
on their behalf; however, an employee or volunteer at a  
domestic violence shelter or organization may also file on 

behalf of a minor 
Relationship: 

• Current and former spouses, parents and their children, 
relatives by blood and marriage, those with mutual children, 
anyone who lives or has lived together, and individuals in a 

romantic or intimate relationship may file against one 
another.  

Teen-Specific Provisions: 

• The court may order the respondent to stay away from the 
petitioner’s place of work, school, or other location the 
court determines necessary. 

Access to Legal Representation: Law: 

• Arkansas law does not mention providing legal services to 
minors except in defense cases 

Programs: 

• Arkansas Legal Services Online: 
- Does not offer in person services, but offers online 

resources and describes the protection order and 

legal process 
- Describes teen dating violence and different types 

of abuse that occur within dating violence  
- Lists teen dating violence statistics 
- Provides multiple hotline service numbers to 

different organizations that can help teens 

Access to Mental Health Services: Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• Alabama law does not mention minor’s ability to consent to 
mental health services specifically.  

Programs: 

• Arkansas Department of Health:  
- Offers a teen dating abuse hotline 

Access to Community Support 
Services: 

• Youth Development Initiative: 

- Holds 5k run to raise awareness and encourage 
prevention of violence among young people 

- Hosted on behalf of Women & Children First: The 

Center Against Family Violence 

• University of Central Arkansas:  
- Offers online resources to teens and parents of 

teens who may be in abusive dating relationships 
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Sources: 

• Arkansas Legal Services Online: http://www.arlegalservices.org/node/942/teen-dating-

violence 

• Arkansas Department of Health:  https://www.healthy.arkansas.gov/programs-

services/topics/violence-prevention 

• Youth Development Initiative:  https://youthdevelopmentinitiative.org/programs 

• University of Central Arkansas: https://uca.edu/police/crime-prevention/dating-and-

domestic-violence/ 

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit: States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order, 2015 

 

- Explains why teen dating violence is often hidden 
- Looks at early warning signs that relationships 

may become abusive, including, extreme jealousy, 

controlling behavior, quick involvement, etc. 
- Provides common indicators that a teen may be in 

an abusive relationship 

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

Source: https://codes.findlaw.com/ar/title-6-education/ar-code-
sect-6-16-1004.html 

 

Law: 

• Arkansas law requires a unit of teen dating violence 
awareness to be taught as a component of health courses to 

grades 7-12, annually, in the month of October or February 
Programs: 

• Arkansas Attorney General (Leslie Rutledge): 

- Prioritized raising awareness about teen dating 
violence 

- Partnered with the Arkansas Coalition Against 

Domestic Violence, Arkansas Coalition Against 
Sexual Assault, the Arkansas Department of 
Education, and Break the Cycle 

- Offers training opportunities to educators, school 
resource officers, and others on abuse prevention 

and intervention  
- Emphasizes that the teen experience is different 

than the adult experience to abuse 

- Arkansas students 7-12 receive instruction on 
dating violence 

State Coalition: Called: N/A  
Knowledge of programs: N/A  

Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 

http://www.arlegalservices.org/node/942/teen-dating-violence
http://www.arlegalservices.org/node/942/teen-dating-violence
https://www.healthy.arkansas.gov/programs-services/topics/violence-prevention
https://www.healthy.arkansas.gov/programs-services/topics/violence-prevention
https://youthdevelopmentinitiative.org/programs
https://uca.edu/police/crime-prevention/dating-and-domestic-violence/
https://uca.edu/police/crime-prevention/dating-and-domestic-violence/
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf
https://codes.findlaw.com/ar/title-6-education/ar-code-sect-6-16-1004.html
https://codes.findlaw.com/ar/title-6-education/ar-code-sect-6-16-1004.html


California 

Legal Age Statutes: Age of Majority: 18 (Fam. §6500) 

Eligibility for Emancipation: 14 years of age (Fam. §7120), or if 
married or in the military (Fam. §7002) 

Contracts by Minors: Yes, (Fam. §6700) except he cannot give a 
delegation of power, or make contracts relating to real property 
or personal property not in immediate possession or control of 

the minor (Fam. §6701) 
Minors’ Ability to Sue: Yes, but must be through a guardian 
(Fam. §6601) 

Consent for Medical Treatment: Yes, minor may consent if 15 
years or older, living apart from parents, and managing own 

finances (§6922) 

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

 
 

Who Can File: 

• Minors who are at least 12 may file orders on their own 
behalf, but a copy will be sent to parents 

Relationship: 

• Current and former spouses, current and former dating 
partners, those with mutual children, relatives by blood or 

marriage, and those who live or have lived together may file 
against each other.  

Teen-Specific Provisions: 

No specific stay away provision 

Access to Legal Representation: Law: 

• California Family Code § 6601-6602 
- A minor may enforce their rights by civil action or 

other legal proceedings in the same manner as an 
adult, except that a guardian must conduct the 
action or proceedings. 

Programs: 

• Break the Cycle: 
- Provides legal services to young survivors of 

dating violence in Los Angeles and Washington, 
D.C. 

- Offered from 12 to 24 years old 
- Assist survivors in obtaining protection orders 
- Attorneys ensure non-legal needs are met as well 

- All services are free  

• Los Angeles Center for Law and Justice (LACLJ): 
- The only teen-centered legal services provider in 

Los Angeles County 
- Helps protect the rights of young survivors of 

violence 

- Works with youth to find solutions on many issues 
- Staff provides legal services, advocacy, and 

education 
- Offers human service connections to enhance a 

teen’s well-being 

Access to Mental Health Services: Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• A minor who is 12 or older may consent to mental health 
treatment (Cal. Fam. Code §6924 (2012)). 
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Programs: 

• California Coalition for Youth: 
- Offers a 24-hour crisis line 

- Available to ages 12-24 

• Interval House: Crisis Shelters and Centers for Victims of 
Domestic Violence: 

- 24-hour teen hotline 
- Counseling 
- Legal services 

- Emergency shelters  
- All services are available both to teens and adults  

- Offers programs and services in 70 different 
languages 

• Casa Youth Center: 

- Offers individual, group, and family counseling 
with a focus on minors 

- Personalized plans are created for all victims 

- Residential shelter 

Access to Community Support 
Services: 

• 1736 Family Crisis Center: 
- Offers an emergency youth center 
- Intake and individualized service plan 

- Case management for those filing protection 
orders 

- Individual and group counseling 

- Offers financial literacy training to assist minors in 
setting up bank accounts, budgeting, buying a 

house, avoiding predatory lenders, etc. 
- Specialized mental health therapy to those in 

transitional age (16-24) 

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

Law: 

• California law only mentions including sexual abuse 
prevention in their schools’ curriculum; however, healthy 
relationship boundaries and recognizing abusive behavior in 

relationships are topics that must be discussed in the 
curriculum (Calif. Educ. Code § 33530=33545). 

Programs: 

• Break the Cycle: 
- Provides schools with resources and training about 

teen dating violence 

- Resources help young people navigate different 
relationship behaviors, whether they are healthy, 

unhealthy, or abusive.  
- Will educate teens on their legal rights 

• California Partnership to End Domestic Violence: 

- Offers resources to school districts in California to 
assist in educating youth 

- Gives online trainings to educators, including, 

Dating Matters and Get Smart. Get Help. Get Safe. 
Teenage Dating Abuse Training for Specialized 
Instructional Support Personnel. 

• Peace Over Violence:  
- An 11-unit curriculum that empowers youth to 

have healthy relationships 

- Unit 1: Roots of Violence: Global and Local  
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Sources:  

• Break the Cycle:  https://www.breakthecycle.org/legal-services 

• Los Angeles Center for Law and Justice (LACLJ): 

https://www.laaconline.org/pub/14782/laclj-only-la-county-provider-teen-centered-legal-

services/ 

• California Coalition for Youth: https://calyouth.org/cycl/ 

• Interval House: Crisis Shelters and Centers for Victims of Domestic Violence: 

http://intervalhouse.org/index.asp  

• Casa Youth Center: https://www.casayouthshelter.org/ 

• California Partnership to End Domestic Violence: https://www.cpedv.org/blog-

post/resources-school-districts 

• Peace Over Violence: https://www.peaceoverviolence.org/curricula 

• 1736 Family Crisis Center: http://1736familycrisiscenter.org/ 

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit: States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order, 2015 

 

 

- Unit 2: Power and Control: Personal Power vs. 
Dominance  

- Unit 3: Recognizing Unhealthy Relationships  

- Unit 4: Bullying 
- Unit 5: Breaking the Cycle of Violence 
- Unit 6: Creating Healthy Relationships 

- Unit 7: Sexual Assault and Coercive Control 
- Unit 8: Respectful Sexuality 

- Unit 9: Sexual Harassment 
- Unit 10: Media Impact 
- Unit 11: Choose Peace Over Violence 

State Coalition: Called: N/A 

Knowledge of programs: N/A 
Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 

https://www.breakthecycle.org/legal-services
https://www.laaconline.org/pub/14782/laclj-only-la-county-provider-teen-centered-legal-services/
https://www.laaconline.org/pub/14782/laclj-only-la-county-provider-teen-centered-legal-services/
https://calyouth.org/cycl/
http://intervalhouse.org/index.asp
https://www.casayouthshelter.org/
https://www.cpedv.org/blog-post/resources-school-districts
https://www.cpedv.org/blog-post/resources-school-districts
https://www.peaceoverviolence.org/curricula
http://1736familycrisiscenter.org/
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf


Colorado 

Legal Age Statutes: Age of Majority: 21, although most freedoms are gained at 

18 
Eligibility for Emancipation: Not specified by Colorado 

law, but automatically emancipated if married or served in 
the military 
Contracts by Minors: Children can’t enter into contracts, or 

at least, be responsible for upholding their end of the 
contract, until they are 18 years old.  
Minors’ Ability to Sue: Children can’t sue without a 

guardian or representative until they reach the age of 18. 
Consent for Medical Treatment: Minors at any age may be 

treated for STDs, drug addiction, and obtain information 
about birth control. 

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

 
 

Who Can File: 

• It is not clear in Colorado law whether minors may file 

on their behalf, though a parent or guardian may 
consent for them 

Relationship: 

• Current and former spouses, relatives by blood or 
marriage, those with mutual children, a current or 
former intimate partner, and those who live or have 

lived together may file against each other. 
Teen-Specific Provisions: 

• The court may order the respondent to stay away from 

the petitioner’s home, school, or any other place they 
may be found. 

Access to Legal Representation: 
 
 

Source: 

https://www.colorado.edu/law/academics/clinics/juvenile-
and-family-law-clinic 

Law: 

• Colorado law is adamant about assisting minors 

legally, but it is unclear to what type of cases and 
whether a parent/guardian must be involved 

Programs: 

• Colorado Law: Juvenile and Family Law Clinic: 
- Provides legal services to indigent youth 

Access to Mental Health Services: Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• Minors must have parental consent to receive mental 
health or counseling services 

Programs: 

• N/A 

Access to Community Support 
Services: 

• The Alliance:  
- Although this program is mainly directed 

towards parents who are assisting their teen 

with dating violence, it offers valuable and 
detailed information 

- Encourages parents to support teens at all 

times with open communication 
- Offers parents questions to ask their teens 
- Teaches warning signs of abusive 

relationships 

• Violence Free Colorado:  
- Offers statistics about teen dating violence 

https://www.colorado.edu/law/academics/clinics/juvenile-and-family-law-clinic
https://www.colorado.edu/law/academics/clinics/juvenile-and-family-law-clinic
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Sources:  

• Colorado Law: Juvenile and Family Law Clinic: 

https://www.colorado.edu/law/academics/clinics/juvenile-and-family-law-clinic 

• The Alliance:  https://alliancechaffee.org/teen-dating-violence/resources-for-parents-of-

teens-and-tweens/ 

• Violence Free Colorado: https://www.violencefreecolorado.org/find-help/teen-dating-

violence/ 

• Douglas County School District, Health, Wellness and Prevention, Mental Health Support & 

Resources: Dating Violence Prevention 

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit: States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order, 2015 

 

- Utilizes coach/athlete relationship to 
positively influence young men 

- Encourages healthy relationships and 

promotes responsibility  

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
Source: https://www.ncsl.org/research/health/teen-dating-

violence.aspx 

Law: 

• Colorado law requires schools to incorporate education 
programs for sexual violence and dating violence 

(Colo., Sess. Laws, Chap. 303 (2013 HB 1081)) 
Programs: 

• Douglas County School District:  
- Partners with the Douglas County Crisis 

Center to offer a teen dating violence seminar 

for all sophomores, The Outrage 
- Addresses healthy and unhealthy relationships 

in a theatrical production 

- Production is during school hours and lasts 35 
minutes 

- Additionally, provides online resources for 

teens and parents 
- 24-hour crisis line, available 7 days per week 

State Coalition: Called: N/A 

Knowledge of programs: N/A 
Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 

https://www.colorado.edu/law/academics/clinics/juvenile-and-family-law-clinic
https://alliancechaffee.org/teen-dating-violence/resources-for-parents-of-teens-and-tweens/
https://alliancechaffee.org/teen-dating-violence/resources-for-parents-of-teens-and-tweens/
https://www.violencefreecolorado.org/find-help/teen-dating-violence/
https://www.violencefreecolorado.org/find-help/teen-dating-violence/
https://www.dcsdk12.org/about/our_district/departments/health_wellness_and_prevention/mental_health_support___resources/dating_violence_prevention
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf


Connecticut 

Legal Age Statutes: 
 

 
 
 

Age of Majority: 18 

Eligibility for Emancipation: 16 
Contracts by Minors: Common law 

Minors’ Ability to Sue: 18 or upon emancipation 
Consent for Medical Treatment: 18 or upon emancipation 

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

 
 

Who Can File: 

• It is unclear whether minors may file protection orders on 
their own behalf 

Relationship: 

• Current and former spouses, those with mutual children, 
those related by blood or marriage, parents and their 
children, anyone who is or has been in a dating relationship, 

if 60 or older and filing against a live-in caretaker, and 
those who have or currently live together may file against 

each other.  
Teen-Specific Provisions: 

• No specific school stay-away provision 

Access to Legal Representation: Law: 

• Connecticut law only mentions providing legal 
representation to minors in juvenile defense cases.  

Programs: 

• N/A 

Access to Mental Health Services: 
 

 
 

Source: https://ndaa.org/wp-content/uploads/Minor-Consent-to-
Medical-Treatment-2.pdf 

 

Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• Connecticut law does not specifically mention minors’ 
ability to consent to mental health services. Minors need 

consent from a parent or guardian to access medical 
services. 

Programs: 

• N/A 

Access to Community Support 
Services: 

• Td411: 

- A mobile app created by the Connecticut Coalition 
Against Domestic Violence 

- Designed to give teens the “411” on healthy 

relationships and teen dating violence 
- Teaches healthy dating relationship behaviors and 

signs of abusive behaviors 

- Provides two dating quizzes to allow teens to 
analyze the health of their relationship 

- Gives safety tips and safety planning 
- Search feature allows teens to find their nearest 

counselor  

- Content is also available in Spanish 

• 2-1-1 of Connecticut:  
- Offers online resources for teens 

- Looks at signs of abuse 
- Lists service providers in Connecticut’s 

community resources database 

 
 

https://ndaa.org/wp-content/uploads/Minor-Consent-to-Medical-Treatment-2.pdf
https://ndaa.org/wp-content/uploads/Minor-Consent-to-Medical-Treatment-2.pdf
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Sources:  

• Td411: http://www.ctcadv.org/projects-initiatives/td411/ 

• 2-1-1 of Connecticut: https://uwc.211ct.org/dating-violenceteen-dating-violence/ 

• Interval House: Working to End Domestic Violence:  https://intervalhousect.org/domestic-

violence/teen-dating/ 

• Safe Haven:  http://www.safehavengw.org/domestic-violence/domestic-violence-services/ 

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit: States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order, 2015 

 

• Interval House: Working to End Domestic Violence:  
- Provides important local data about teen dating 

violence 

- Gives tips for what abusive partners may do and  
healthy relationships  

- External links to YouTube videos discussing teen 

dating violence 

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 

Source: https://www.ncsl.org/research/health/teen-dating-

violence.aspx 

Law: 

• Connecticut law requires teen dating violence education as 
part of in-service training for teachers, administrators, and 

pupil personnel. The Commissioner of Public Health was 
also required to create one public service announcement 

issued through a televised broadcast for the purpose of teen 
dating violence prevention. (2010 Conn. Acts, P.A. 91 
(2010 HB 5315) & 2010 Conn. Acts, P.A. 137 (2010 HB 

5246)) 
Programs: 

• Safe Haven: 

- Offers presentations to all age groups 
- Covers topics such as bullying and dating violence 
- Offered to elementary, middle, and high school 

students 
- Provides training to police, social service 

providers, and health professionals 
- Provides training to religious and civic groups 

State Coalition: 
 

Called: N/A 
Knowledge of programs: N/A 
Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 

http://www.ctcadv.org/projects-initiatives/td411/
https://uwc.211ct.org/dating-violenceteen-dating-violence/
https://intervalhousect.org/domestic-violence/teen-dating/
https://intervalhousect.org/domestic-violence/teen-dating/
http://www.safehavengw.org/domestic-violence/domestic-violence-services/
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf


Delaware 

Legal Age Statutes: Age of Majority: 18 (1 Del. C §701) 

Eligibility for Emancipation: No statute related to the 
emancipation of minors. The Court may grant a minor’s request 

under certain circumstances. Based on a case-by-case basis. 
Contracts by Minors: 18 (6 Del. C §2705) 
Prosecution and Defense of actions by persons of the age of 18: 

(10 Del. C §3923) 
 

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

 
 

Who Can File: 

• Minors will need a parent or guardian to file on their behalf, 

may also file with a guardian ad litem 
Relationship: 

• Current and former spouses, those with mutual children, 

individuals in a substantive dating relationship, custodian 
and child, and relatives by blood or marriage may file 
against each other 

Teen-Specific Provisions: 

• No school stay-away provision 

Access to Legal Representation: 
 
 

Source: https://codes.findlaw.com/de/title-10-courts-and-
judicial-procedure/de-code-sect-10-3923.html 

 

Law: 

• Delaware law does not mention providing legal 

representation to minors 
Programs: 

• N/A 

Access to Mental Health Services: Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• Delaware law requires minors to have consent from 
parent/guardian to access in-patient mental health services 

• Teens 14 and older can consent to voluntary outpatient 

mental health services (16 Del. C §5003(f)(3)) 
Programs to highlight: 

• N/A 

Access to Community Support 
Services: 

• Safe + Respectful: 

- Collaborative effort coordinated by DCADV  
- Provides resources and information on teen dating 

violence 

- Gives teens access to resources designed 
specifically for them 

- Analyzes healthy and unhealthy relationships 
- Provides local and national resources for teens to 

access services 

• REAL Relationships:  
- Engages youth to make changes in Kent and 

Sussex county communities 

- Challenges existing social & gender norms 
- Learn skills to practice healthy and safe 

relationships 

- Youth will serve as mentors to peers 
- Youth organize their own teen dating violence 

prevention activities 

https://codes.findlaw.com/de/title-10-courts-and-judicial-procedure/de-code-sect-10-3923.html
https://codes.findlaw.com/de/title-10-courts-and-judicial-procedure/de-code-sect-10-3923.html
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Sources:  

• Safe + Respectful: https://safeandrespectful.org/ 

• REAL Relationships: http://www.realrelationshipsde.org/ 

• Delaware Health Model Unit: 

- Delaware Model Unit: Health Education Healthy Relationships for Grades 6-8 

- Delaware Model Unit: Health Education Healthy Relationships Grades 9-12 

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit: States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order, 2015 

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

Source: https://www.ncsl.org/research/health/teen-dating-
violence.aspx 

Law: 

• Delaware law requires school districts and charter schools 
to implement healthy relationship programming as part of 

health classes. Additionally, Delaware law requires school 
districts and charter schools to establish policy and 
guidelines on mandatory reporting of teen dating violence 

and sexual assault. (14 Del. C §4166) 

• Consent Education: Each school district and charter school 
serving grades 7 through 12 shall provide age- and 

developmentally-appropriate, evidence-informed instruction 
on the meaning of consent and respecting others’ personal 

boundaries as part of health standard programming related 
to comprehensive healthy relationships. (14 Del. C §4167) 

Programs: 

• Delaware Health Model Unit: Health Education: 
- High school students will receive education over 

five lessons 

- Looks at respectful vs disrespectful behaviors, 
different communication styles, behaviors based 
on power and equality, and the relationship 

between disrespect and violence, among others 
issues 

- Students learn how to recognize how gender 
stereotypes are limiting or disrespectful, learn how 
to set boundaries, choose how they will be treated, 

practice how to communicate, and will be able to 
demonstrate effective message tactics and 
strategies among others. 

- Middle school students will also receive education 
over the course of five lessons 

- Students analyze stereotypes, the impact of media 
messages reinforcing stereotypes, and how a 
courageous bystander can make a difference 

- Students will be able to identify personal 
boundaries, choose respectful over disrespectful 
behaviors, and advocate for personal attitudes, 

beliefs, and behaviors that promote respect, etc. 

State Coalition: Called: N/A 
Knowledge of programs: N/A 

Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 

https://safeandrespectful.org/
http://www.realrelationshipsde.org/
https://www.doe.k12.de.us/site/handlers/filedownload.ashx?moduleinstanceid=1091&dataid=2452&FileName=MS_Curriculum.pdf
https://www.doe.k12.de.us/site/handlers/filedownload.ashx?moduleinstanceid=1091&dataid=2422&FileName=DOEHealthyRelationships4112011.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf
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District of Columbia 

Legal Age Statutes: Age of Majority: 18 (§ 46-101) 

Eligibility for Emancipation: Not specified  
Contracts by Minors: Common law rule that minors cannot be 

charged or held to a debt unless promise made in writing and 
signed. (§ 28-3505) 
Minors’ Ability to Sue: Yes, but by a proper representative (§ 

12-302) 
Consent for Medical Treatment: If connected to pregnancy, 
substance abuse, psychological disturbance, or sexually 

transmitted disease (22 DCMR §600.7) 

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

 
 

Who Can File: 

• Minors may file at 12 years old, but if younger than 16, the 
court may appoint an attorney for the minor. A copy of the 

protection order may be sent to the minor’s parent/guardian 
Relationship: 

• Current and former spouses, those who are or were in a 
domestic partnership, and those in a romantic, dating, or 
sexual relationship may file against each other. 

Teen-Specific Provisions: 

• No school stay-away provision 

Access to Legal Representation: 
 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 

Source: https://codes.findlaw.com/dc/division-ii-judiciary-and-
judicial-procedure/dc-code-sect-16-1005.html 

Law: 

• Minors may receive legal representation if at least 12 and 
unaccompanied by a parent/guardian (District of Columbia 

Code Division II. Judiciary and Judicial Procedure § 16-
1005. Hearing; evidence; protection order). 

Programs: 

• Break the Cycle: 
- Provides legal services to young survivors age 12 

to 24 
- Assists those seeking help for dating abuse 
- Helps survivors procure protection orders 

- Assists with any violations of protection orders 
- Attorneys work closely with clients to personalize 

safety planning and refer victims to local services 
- All services are free of charge and has no income 

eligibility requirements 

- Provides bilingual help 

Access to Mental Health Services: Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• Minors may consent to outpatient mental health services, 
other than medication, without parental consent 

Programs: 

• N/A 

Access to Community Support 
Services: 

• Sasha Bruce Youthwork:  
- Looks to improve the lives of youth experiencing 

abuse, homelessness, neglected at-risk youth, and 
runaways. 

- Provides shelter, counseling, life skills training, 

and youth development activities 
- Helps youth develop new ways to thrive, survive, 

and realize success  

https://codes.findlaw.com/dc/division-ii-judiciary-and-judicial-procedure/dc-code-sect-16-1005.html
https://codes.findlaw.com/dc/division-ii-judiciary-and-judicial-procedure/dc-code-sect-16-1005.html
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Sources:  

• Break the Cycle:  https://www.breakthecycle.org/legal-services 

• Sasha Bruce Youthwork:  https://www.sashabruce.org/programs/ 

• Advocates For Youth: Rights, Respect, Responsibility: A K-12 Sexuality Education 

Curriculum and Teacher's Guides 

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit: States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order, 2015 

 

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

Source: https://code.dccouncil.us/dc/council/laws/22-294.html 
 

Law: 

• District of Columbia law requires schools to offer age 
appropriate instruction to all grades, K-12, regarding sexual 

harassment/assault and dating violence (D.C. Law 22-294. 
School Safety Omnibus Amendment Act of 2018). 

Programs: 

• Rights, Respect, Responsibility: A K-12 Sexuality 
Education Curriculum: 

- Believes that at every stage of development, youth 

should have access to age-appropriate information 
about health, sexuality, and relationships 

- Reflects the tenets of social learning theory, social 
ecological model of prevention, and social 
cognitive theory 

State Coalition: Called: N/A 
Knowledge of programs: N/A 

Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 

https://www.breakthecycle.org/legal-services
https://www.sashabruce.org/programs/
https://3rs.org/3rs-curriculum/3rs-curric-search/
https://3rs.org/3rs-curriculum/3rs-curric-search/
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf
https://code.dccouncil.us/dc/council/laws/22-294.html


Florida 

Legal Age Statutes: Age of Majority: 18 (§743.07) 

Eligibility for Emancipation: If legal marriage occurs (§743.01); 
upon petition if 16 or older (§743.015) 

Contracts by Minors: May contract for higher education 
financing if 16 or over (§743.05); may contract generally if 
married (§743.01) 

Minors’ Ability to Sue: By next friend or court appointed 
guardian (RCP §1.210(b)) 
Consent for Medical Treatment: If emergency (§743.064) 

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

 

Who Can File: 

• It is unclear whether minors may file on their own behalf 
Relationship: 

• Current and former spouses, individuals related by blood or 

marriage, persons who live or have lived together, those 
who have mutual children, and individuals in a dating 
relationship may file against each other. 

Teen-Specific Provisions: 

• The court may order the respondent to stay away from the 
petitioner’s home, school, place of work, any place the 

petitioner frequently visits, and any other place the court 
deems 

Access to Legal Representation: Law: 

• Florida law does not state whether minors will be given 
access to legal representation for protection orders 

Programs: 

• Legal Services of North Florida:  
- Dedicated to helping victims of violence obtain 

access to justice and ensure safety 

- Provides services to adult and youth victims of 
abuse  

- Assists victims in securing protection orders and 

with safety planning 
- Works closely with victim advocates 

- Holistic services that goes beyond legal services to 
ensure victims receive all services they need 

Access to Mental Health Services: 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
Source: https://codes.findlaw.com/fl/title-xliii-domestic-

relations/fl-st-sect-743-0645.html 

 

Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• Minors will need consent from parent, guardian, or adult 

sibling in order to access mental health services 
Programs: 

• ACT: Abuse Counseling and Treatment, Inc.: 

- 24-hour hotline 
- Provides counseling in individual and group 

formats 

- Offers online resources viewing signs of teen 
dating violence 

- Analyzes why teen dating violence is not talked 

about 
- Provides parents with resources on how to start a 

discussion with their teen 

https://codes.findlaw.com/fl/title-xliii-domestic-relations/fl-st-sect-743-0645.html
https://codes.findlaw.com/fl/title-xliii-domestic-relations/fl-st-sect-743-0645.html
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Access to Community Support 
Services: 

• Florida Coalition Against Domestic Violence:  
- Offers the “Youth Activist Prevention Toolkit” 
- Provides ideas for youth activities across the state 

to educate others about dating violence 
- Encourages teens to take action in their schools 

and communities 

- Empowers teens and slows them to have the 
chance to speak up that they may not might have 

had 

• I am Courageous:  
- Offers tips to educate and empower teens 

- Teaches teens about relationship rights and 
responsibilities, the equality wheel, and signs of 
dating violence 

- Provides teens with the opportunity to join Youth 
Community Action Teams to work on preventing 
dating violence and abuse in communities 

- All YCAT are different but are all supported by 
local, certified domestic violence centers 

- Teens can join the Youth Advisory board, 
consisting of representatives, grades 6-12 

- YAB looks to spread awareness and develop 

techniques for prevention of violence across the 
state 

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

 
 

Source: https://www.ncsl.org/research/health/teen-dating-
violence.aspx 

Law: 

• Florida law requires teen dating violence and abuse 

education to be incorporated in health curriculum for 
students in grades 7-12 (2010 Fla. Laws, Chap. 217 (2010 
SB 642/HB 467)). 

Programs: 

• Girl with No Name:  
- Offered by the City of Hollywood Florida 

- Looks to decrease the prevalence of teen dating 
violence in high schools 

- Started working initially with seasonal sports 
teams before student organizations 

- Includes learning examples geared towards both 

males and females 
- Students will learn the difference between healthy 

and unhealthy behaviors as well as the effects of 

violence 

• Florida Coalition Against Domestic Violence:  
- Worked with the Florida Department of Education 

to implement dating violence policy for education 
in schools 

- Defines dating violence, warning signs of dating 
violence and abusive behavior, characteristics of 
healthy relationships, and provides measures to 

prevent and stop violence 
- Three curricula were developed for all age groups: 

seventh & either graders, ninth & tenth graders, 

and eleventh & twelfth graders. 
- All curricula include eight, 45-minute sessions 

• Safe and Healthy Schools Florida: Teen Dating Violence 
Prevention:  
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Sources:  

• Legal Services of North Florida: https://www.lsnf.org/domestic-sexual-violence/ 

• ACT: Abuse Counseling and Treatment, Inc.: http://www.actabuse.com/teens/ 

• Florida Coalition Against Domestic Violence:  https://www.fcadv.org/projects-

programs/teens-and-youth 

• I am Courageous:  https://www.iamcourageous.org/ 

• Girl with No Name: https://www.hollywoodfl.org/1051/Teen-Dating-Violence-

Prevention-Program 

• Florida Coalition Against Domestic Violence: https://www.fcadv.org/educators 

• Safe and Healthy Schools Florida: Teen Dating Violence Prevention:  

• http://www.safehealthyschoolsfl.org/Page.aspx/Index/Teen-Dating-Violence-Prevention 

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit: States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order, 2015 

 

- Provides small introduction to teen dating 
violence, as well as the important roles within 
violent relationships 

- Links the curriculum offered by the Department of 
Education 

- Offers web-based training modules for trainers and 

facilitators 
- Teen dating violence curriculum for 7 th and 8th 

graders in 8 modules  

State Coalition: Called: NA 
Knowledge of programs: N/A 
Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 

https://www.lsnf.org/domestic-sexual-violence/
http://www.actabuse.com/teens/
https://www.fcadv.org/projects-programs/teens-and-youth
https://www.fcadv.org/projects-programs/teens-and-youth
https://www.iamcourageous.org/
https://www.hollywoodfl.org/1051/Teen-Dating-Violence-Prevention-Program
https://www.hollywoodfl.org/1051/Teen-Dating-Violence-Prevention-Program
https://www.fcadv.org/educators
http://www.safehealthyschoolsfl.org/Page.aspx/Index/Teen-Dating-Violence-Prevention
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf


Georgia 

Legal Age Statutes: Age of Majority: 18 (§39-1-1) 

Eligibility for Emancipation: Not specified 
Contracts by Minors: Generally voidable; however, if benefits 

continue after age of majority, contract is valid (§13-3-20) 
Minors’ Ability to Sue: Through guardian or guardian ad litem 
(§29-4-7); suit started by infant alone not void by guardian must 

be appointed before verdict (§9-2-28) 
Consent for Medical Treatment: 18 for treatment in general 
(§31-9-2); if treatment is for VD, minor may consent; female 

minor has valid consent for treatment in connection with 
pregnancy  

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

 
 

Who Can File: 

• Minors will need an adult to file on their behalf  
Relationship: 

• Current and former spouses, individuals with mutual 
children, relatives by blood, marriage, and adoption, and 

anyone who lives or has lived together may file against 
each other 

Teen-Specific Provisions: 

• No specific school stay-away provision.  

Access to Legal Representation: 
 
 

Source: https://njdc.info/practice-policy-resources/state-

profiles/georgia/ 
 

Law: 

• Georgia law only mentions providing legal representation to 
minors in defense cases. 

Programs: 

• N/A 

Access to Mental Health Services: Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• Georgia law does not mention minors’ ability to consent to 
mental health treatment, specifically.  

Programs: 

• N/A 

Access to Community Support 
Services: 

• Partnership Against Domestic Violence:  
- The Teens Against Dating Violence (TADV) 

Advisory Board empowers teens to take a stand 

against dating violence and to have their voices 
heard. 

- Teens engage through their communities and 

social networking sites 
- Teens create social media content for Facebook, 

Instagram, and Twitter 

- Shadow and Co-facilitate Teen Dating Violence 
events every month with PADV’s Teen 

Empowerment Advocate 
- Promote “Teen Scene” with peers 
- Assist in the planning and promotion of PADV’s 

Annual Teen Summit 

• Gateway Domestic Violence Center: 
- Partnered with Project Safe in Athens, Georgia, 

connecting teens to a free and confidential text line 

• Project Safe, Inc.: 

https://njdc.info/practice-policy-resources/state-profiles/georgia/
https://njdc.info/practice-policy-resources/state-profiles/georgia/
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- Breaking the Silence is a Project Safe initiative 
that assists teens in recognizing and avoiding 
unhealthy relationships 

- Encourages teens to speak out and get help when 
needed 

- Provides support, information & referral sources, 

and counseling or outreach assistance 

• Georgia Commission on Family Violence: 

- Family Violence Task Force assesses resources 
available to victims/survivors of Teen Dating 
Violence 

- Identified areas of improvement in resources, 
protocol, and procedure for Teen Dating Violence 

- If resources were unavailable, the committee 

would develop those tools 
- Implement changes and improve current process 

based on research 

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

Source: https://www.ncsl.org/research/health/teen-dating-
violence.aspx 

Law: 

• Georgia law requires the State Board of Education to 
develop a program for preventing teen dating violence for 

grades 8-12 (Ga. Code Ann. § 20-2-314 (2003 SB 346)). 
Programs: 

• Start Strong Atlanta: 

- Part of a nationwide initiative funded by the 
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation 

- Targets 11 to 14-year-olds to prevent teen dating 

violence and abuse 
- Works with two primary partners, Atlanta Public 

Schools and Grady Health Systems 

- The initiative had four core strategies: 
o Educate and engage 11 to 14-year-olds 

about adolescent dating abuse in schools 
and in and out-of-school settings 

o Educate and engage teen influencers such 

as parents/caregivers, teachers, 
counselors, coaches, youth program 
mentors, young mentors (15-18-year-

olds) and other mentors (health clinic 
personnel, family planning providers, 

school nurses, etc.) to support 11-to-14-
year-olds in developing healthy 
relationships and preventing adolescent 

dating abuse 
o Change policies and environmental 

factors to promote development of 

healthy relationships and prevent 
adolescent dating abuse 

o Implement communication strategies to 
promote development of healthy 
relationships and prevent adolescent 

dating abuse 

State Coalition: Called: N/A 
Knowledge of programs: N/A 
Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 
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Sources: 

• Partnership Against Domestic Violence: https://padv.org/learn/teen-dating-violence/ 

• Gateway Domestic Violence Center: http://www.gatewaydvcenter.org/teens-domestic-

violence-in-relationships/ 

• Project Safe, Inc.: https://www.project-safe.org/breaking-the-silence/ 

• Georgia Commission on Family Violence: https://gcfv.georgia.gov/teen-dating-violence-

committee 

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit: States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order, 2015 

 

https://padv.org/learn/teen-dating-violence/
http://www.gatewaydvcenter.org/teens-domestic-violence-in-relationships/
http://www.gatewaydvcenter.org/teens-domestic-violence-in-relationships/
https://www.project-safe.org/breaking-the-silence/
https://gcfv.georgia.gov/teen-dating-violence-committee
https://gcfv.georgia.gov/teen-dating-violence-committee
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf


Hawaii 

Legal Age Statutes: Age of Majority: 18 (§577-1) 

Eligibility for Emancipation: Legal marriage (§588-25) 
Contracts by Minors: Disaffirmance must be made within 

reasonable time after reaching age of majority (1 Haw. 421) 
Minors’ Ability to Sue: Guardian ad litem, next friend (§551-2) 
Consent for Medical Treatment: For counseling services for 

alcohol or drug abuse (§577-26); if for pregnancy, venereal 
disease, or family planning services (§577A-2) 

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

 
 

Who Can File: 

• Minors may not file on their own behalf, but may utilize a 

state agency in addition to having parent/guardian consent 
Relationship: 

• Current and former spouses, persons with a child in 

common, parents and children, persons related by 
consanguinity, those who live or have lived together, and 
persons currently or formerly in a dating relationship may 

file against each other.  
Teen-Specific Provisions: 

• No school stay-away provision 

Access to Legal Representation: Law: 

• Hawaii law only mentions providing representation to 
minors in delinquency and child abuse cases 

Programs: 

• N/A 

Access to Mental Health Services: 
 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
Source: https://codes.findlaw.com/hi/division-3-property-

family/hi-rev-st-sect-577-29.html 

 

Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• At 14, minors may consent to mental health treatment and 
counseling services, if the mental health professional 

deems the minor mature enough. The mental health 
professional may involve the minor’s parents, unless 

determining involvement would be inappropriate (Hawaii 
Revised Statutes Division 3. Property; Family § 577-29. 
Mental Health Services Relating to Minors; Diagnosis, 

Counseling, and Related Activities) 
Programs: 

• ACT: Abuse Counseling & Treatment:  

- Private, non-profit agency serving victims of 
violence 

- Provides services to all ages 

- Offers general information about Teen Dating 
Violence 

- Provides signs and symptoms of dating violence 

• Oahu Family Peace Center: 
- Offering counseling for over 25 years, as well as 

prevention and intervention services 
- Provides counseling in both individual and group 

formats 

- Offers a 24-hour support and shelter access line 
- Support and intervention groups for youth 5-17 

https://codes.findlaw.com/hi/division-3-property-family/hi-rev-st-sect-577-29.html
https://codes.findlaw.com/hi/division-3-property-family/hi-rev-st-sect-577-29.html
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Access to Community Support 
Services: 

• TAP808: 
- Promotes and celebrates healthy relationships for 

all ages 

- Aims to eliminate teen dating violence through 
prevention education, individual advocacy, and 
social change. 

- Provides outreach education and workshops about 
teen dating violence and healthy relationships 

- Offers individualized advocacy support to teens 
to have experienced dating violence 

- Serves youth 12-21 

- Online website is completely teen centered and 
allows teens to submit requests for help with all 
of their information and brief story, to receive 

help via phone call or Instagram private messages 

• YWCA Hawaii Island:  
- Offers online resources to teens, describing what 

abusive relationships are and reminding teens to 
remember their rights 

- Provides urgent services directory, domestic 
abuse hotline, and psychological resources 

• Teen Link Hawaii:  

- Youth empowerment, outreach, and education 
program  

- Provides information and referral services for 

teens 
- Analyzes why teens might stay silent 

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 

Source: 
https://www.capitol.hawaii.gov/session2018/bills/HB1905_.HTM 

Law: 

• Hawaii law does not currently enforce teen dating violence 

education schools; however, H.B. No. 1905: will require 
this education be required in curriculum, when enacted 

Programs: 

• Teen Alert Program:  
- The Domestic Violence Action Center’s teen 

dating violence prevention, education, and 

intervention program. 
- Provides education, workshops, and training to 

Hawaii students, parents, and community 
organizations 

- Educates on healthy relationships, gender roles, 

dignified consent, and community intervention 
strategies 

- Will also provide one-on-one advocacy 

- Works with public and private intermediate and 
high schools, colleges, youth agencies, 

community groups, and community 
advocates/service providers 

- Offers 7 different presentations 

- All presentations are available, by request, 
through their website and offered free of charge 

State Coalition: Called: N/A 
Knowledge of programs: N/A 

Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 

https://www.capitol.hawaii.gov/session2018/bills/HB1905_.HTM
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Sources:  

• ACT: Abuse Counseling & Treatment: http://www.actabuse.com/about-act/ 

• Oahu Family Peace Center: https://pacthawaii.org/our-work/domestic-violence-

prevention/family-peace-centers/oahu-peace-center/ 

• TAP808:  https://www.tap808.org/ 

• YWCA Hawaii Island:  https://www.ywcahawaiiisland.org/teen-dating/ 

• Teen Link Hawaii: https://www.teenlinkhawaii.org/sexual-violence-dating 

• Teen Alert Program:  https://domesticviolenceactioncenter.org/teen-alert-program/ 

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit: States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order, 2015 

 

http://www.actabuse.com/about-act/
https://pacthawaii.org/our-work/domestic-violence-prevention/family-peace-centers/oahu-peace-center/
https://pacthawaii.org/our-work/domestic-violence-prevention/family-peace-centers/oahu-peace-center/
https://www.tap808.org/
https://www.ywcahawaiiisland.org/teen-dating/
https://www.teenlinkhawaii.org/sexual-violence-dating
https://domesticviolenceactioncenter.org/teen-alert-program/
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf


Idaho 

Legal Age Statutes: Age of Majority: 18 

Eligibility for Emancipation: By marriage 
Contracts by Minors: An unmarried minor can generally get out 

of a contract for goods or services, if done before turning 18. 
However, even if unmarried, a minor can’t disaffirm an 
otherwise valid contract to purchase necessities, such as food, 

shelter, or clothing. 
Minors’ Ability to Sue: A minor can sue or be sued through a 
guardian, conservator, or other fiduciary, or guardian ad litem or 

next friend appointed by the court  
Consent for Medical Treatment: A minor who is at least 14 

years old can consent to be treated for infectious, contagious, or 
communicable diseases, such as TB or STDs, without the 
permission of a parent/guardian 

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 

Who Can File: 

• It is unclear whether minors may file for protection orders 
on their own, although a custodial or noncustodial parent or 
guardian ad litem may file on behalf of a minor 

Relationship: 

• Current and former spouses, persons related by blood, 
adoption or marriage, those with a mutual child, individuals 

who live or have lived together, or persons in a dating 
relationship may file against each other. The nature of the 
relationship, length of the relationship, frequency of 

interaction, and time since the termination of the 
relationship, if applicable, will be used to define a dating 

relationship.  
Teen-Specific Provisions: 

• The court may order the respondent to stay away from the 

petitioner’s home, school, place of employment, any other 
place frequently visited by the petitioner, or any other place 
the court deems necessary. Additionally, the court may 

order the respondent to stay at least 1,500 feet or other 
appropriate distance from the petitioner.  

Access to Legal Representation: Law: 

• Idaho law does not mention providing legal representation 

to minors, except those in defense cases 
Programs: 

• Idaho Perinatal Project: 

- Provides teens and young adults non-emergency 
legal advice regarding dating violence 

- Helps teens and young adults ages 13-22 

- Will assist in procuring protection orders 

Access to Mental Health Services: Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• Idaho law does not mention minors’ ability to consent for 

mental health treatment 
Programs: 

• A New Path: Domestic Violence Counseling:  

- Domestic violence treatment center for offenders 
and abusers 
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- Help men, women, and children manage stress 
without use of physical or emotional abuse 

- Uniquely offers adolescent, offender support 

groups 

Access to Community Support 
Services: 

• Center for Healthy Teen Relationships: 

- Promotes healthy relationship skills with the goal 
to prevent adolescent relationship abuse 

- Engages with and educates young people, 

parents/caregivers, and adult influences 
- Promotes positive social norms 

- Released a model school policy as a tool to help 
school districts address prevention and response to 
teen dating violence and sexual assault 

• Advocates Against Family Violence: 
- Provides online resources to help recognize a 

pattern of behavior 

- Analyzes who experiences dating violence 
- Gives teen dating violence statistics  
- Looks at the characteristics of teen dating violence 

- Offers the warning signs of abuse 

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

Law: 

• Idaho law does not require teen dating violence education to 
be incorporated into school curriculum. 

Programs: 

• Center for Healthy Teen Relationships:  

- Working on a State-level initiative focused on 
intimate partner violence and the implementation 
and evaluation of primary prevention strategies 

- Looking to implement the Idaho Model School 
Policy on Adolescent Relationship Abuse and 
Sexual Assault Prevention and Response with the 

Public School Districts in the state 
- Aiming to create a comprehensive prevention and 

response system for teen dating violence and 

sexual abuse in schools and communities across 
the state 

• Green Dot:  
- Prevention strategy that capitalizes on the power of 

peer and cultural influence 

- Implemented in four local high schools 
- Comprised of three components, the overview 

speech, bystander training, and social norming 

campaign 

State Coalition: Called: N/A 
Knowledge of programs: N/A 
Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 
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Sources: 

• Idaho Perinatal Project: http://idahoperinatal.org/news-violence-assault-talkline.php 

• A New Path: Domestic Violence Counseling: anewpathtoday.com 

• Center for Healthy Teen Relationships: https://idvsa.org/initiatives/center-healthy-teen-

relationship/ 

• Advocates Against Family Violence: https://aafvhope.org/services/teen-dating-violence/ 

• Green Dot: https://idvsa.org/initiatives/green-dot/ 

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit: States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order, 2015 

 

http://idahoperinatal.org/news-violence-assault-talkline.php
file:///C:/Users/shanemccartan/Desktop/Old%20States/Idaho/anewpathtoday.com
https://idvsa.org/initiatives/center-healthy-teen-relationship/
https://idvsa.org/initiatives/center-healthy-teen-relationship/
https://aafvhope.org/services/teen-dating-violence/
https://idvsa.org/initiatives/green-dot/
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf


Illinois 

Legal Age Statutes: Age of Majority: 18 

Eligibility for Emancipation: Minors between 16 and 18 may 
apply if no parental objection (§§750 ILCS 30/1, et seq.) 

Contracts by Minors: Voidable unless for necessities; executing 
contract binding only if ratified after 18; executed contract 
binding unless disaffirmed within reasonable time after age 18; 

common law 
Minors’ Ability to Sue: Guardian ad litem must be appointed or 
can sue within 2 years of turning 18 (§735 ILCS 5/13-211) 

Consent for Medical Treatment: Consent by minor if married, 
parent, or victim of sexual assault (410 ILCS 210/1, et seq.) 

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

 
 

Who Can File: 

• Minors will need an adult to file on their behalf, although it 
does not necessarily need to be a parent 

Relationship: 

• Current and former spouses, children and parents, relatives 
by blood and marriage, individuals who live or have lived 
together, those with a mutual child, and individuals in a 

dating relationship may file against each other 
Teen-Specific Provisions: 

• School stay-away provisions 

Access to Legal Representation: Law: 

• Illinois law only mentions providing minors with legal 
representation in defense cases. 

Programs: 

• N/A 

Access to Mental Health Services: Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• Minors will need consent from a parent/guardian to access 
mental health services, excluding drug and alcohol 

treatment. 
Programs: 

• Between Friends Chicago: 

- Has over 30 years of experience providing services 
to survivors of domestic violence 

- Offer supportive counseling session 

- Focus on strengths and capabilities, not just 
challenges 

- Helps teen, child, and adult survivors find safety 

and healing 
- Connects survivors with external resources 

- All services are free and confidential 
- Offered in English, Spanish, Arabic, French, 

Tamil, Malay, and Malayalam 

• Life Span: 
- Provides counseling program services to teens 

abusive relationships and crisis intervention 

- Focuses on restoring power and choice to victims 
- Assist teens create personalized safety plans 
- Assists in procuring protection orders 

- Collaborates with school staff on behalf of the 
victim to ensure safety 
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- Assists teens create a plan to leave their 
relationship 

Access to Community Support 
Services: 

• N/A 

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 

Source: https://www.ncsl.org/research/health/teen-dating-

violence.aspx 

Law: 

• Illinois law requires school boards to incorporate teen-

dating-violence-based education to school curriculum for 
grades 7 through 12 and school employees (2013 Ill. Laws, 

P.A. 190 (2013 HB 3379)). 
Programs: 

• Sarah’s Inn: 

- Aims to prevent relationship violence by teaching 
youth about the impact of their choices  

- Gives youth tools to lead healthy lives and 

empowers them to make a difference within their 
communities  

- Works with adolescents, educators, and parents 

through school-based prevention education 
programming 

- All prevention programming aligns with the 
Illinois Social and Emotional Learning (SEL) 
standards 

• Life Span: 
- Addresses the broader issue of violence prevention 

by educating teens on how to construct nonviolent 

solutions to problems 
- Offered to schools in the northwest suburbs and in 

Chicago 

- Staffed by two counselors who work with both 
boys and girls 

- Counselors developed curriculum with 
experimental activities that reinforce nonviolent 
conflict resolution and healthy relationships 

- Offered in classroom workshops and group work 
formats, provided in schools 

• Between Friends: Relationship Education: A Choice for 

Hope (REACH): 
- Stresses the importance for youth to learn what 

makes healthy relationships 

- Taught in Chicago Public School classrooms and 
available upon request 

- Engages 6th through 12th grade youth to examine 
issues regarding empathy, consent, boundaries, 
and conflict resolution 

- Educators ensure teens know how to access 
information and services 

State Coalition: Called: N/A 
Knowledge of programs: N/A 

Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 
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Sources: 

• Between Friends Chicago: https://www.betweenfriendschicago.org/get-help/counseling/ 

• Sarah’s Inn: https://sarahsinn.org/what-we-do/ 

• Life Span:  https://life-span.org/counseling/ 

• Between Friends: Relationship Education: A Choice for Hope (REACH): 

https://www.betweenfriendschicago.org/our-programs/reach 

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit: States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order, 2015 

 

https://www.betweenfriendschicago.org/get-help/counseling/
https://sarahsinn.org/what-we-do/
https://life-span.org/counseling/
https://www.betweenfriendschicago.org/our-programs/reach
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf


Indiana 

Legal Age Statutes: Age of Majority: 18; common law 

Eligibility for Emancipation: Not specified 
Contracts by Minors: If under 18, child is not able to contract 

except for necessities and higher education expenses (common 
law, §20-12-21,3-1); minors 16 or older may contract for life, 
accident, sickness insurance and annuities (§27-1-12-15) 

Minors’ Ability to Sue: In own name or through next friend, 
guardian ad litem, or representative (Trial Proc. R. 17©) 
Consent for Medical Treatment: Minors may consent if 

emancipated, 14 years or older and living apart from parents, 
married, or in military service (16-36-1-3) 

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

 
 

Who Can File: 

• Minors will need consent from a parent/guardian when 
filing protection orders 

Relationship: 

• Current and former spouses, those that currently or have 
dated, persons currently or that were engaged in a sexual 
relationship, relatives by blood and marriage, those with 

mutual children, if one has adopted a child from another, 
and those who have or had a legal relationship (guardian, 
ward, custodian, or foster) may file against each other. 

Teen-Specific Provisions: 

• The court may order the respondent to stay away from the 
petitioner’s home, school, place of work, or any other place 

frequently visited by the petitioner. Additionally, the court 
may order the respondent to stay away from designated 
family members or household members of the petitioner. 

Access to Legal Representation: Law: 

• Indiana law only mentions providing legal representation to 
minors in defense cases. 

Programs: 

• N/A 

Access to Mental Health Services: Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• Indiana law does not specifically mention access to mental 
health services, although it would appear it would coincide 

with their ability to consent to medical services (Ind. Code. 
Ann. § 16-36-1-3 (2012). Consent to Own Health Care; 

Minors). 
Programs: 

• N/A 

Access to Community Support 
Services: 

• Stand4Respect: 
- Created by the Indiana Coalition Against Domestic 

Violence Youth Council 
- Written by youth for adults to help them talk and 

listen to what youth are asking about relationships 
- Encourages adults to model healthy relationship 

behavior to youth 

• Beacon of Hope Crisis Center: Teen Talk:  
- Offered to schools, churches, and youth-serving 

organizations 
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Sources:  

• Stand4Respect: http://icadvinc.org/resources-stand4respect/ 

• Beacon of Hope Crisis Center: Teen Talk: https://beaconofhopeindy.org/teen-talk-outreach-

and-education-program.html 

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit: States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order, 2015 

 

- Series of interactive presentations, providing 
outreach support to teens affected by teen dating 
violence 

- Provides information to help teens recognize 
warning signs and to help safely leave abusive 
relationships 

- Provides resources and ongoing support services 
- Presentations include education and awareness 

- Includes Power Point and interactive activities 
such as games, discussion, videos, and relevant 
quizzes 

- Offers safe and confidential follow-up resources 

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
Source: https://www.ncsl.org/research/health/teen-dating-

violence.aspx 
 

Law: 

• Indiana law requires the department of education to identify 
or develop model dating violence education materials and a 

model for dating violence response policies and reporting 
(Ind. Code §20-19-3-10) 

Programs: 

• Beacon of Hope Crisis Center: 
- Includes information to help teens recognize 

warning sings in abusive relationships 
- Designed to help equip teens with the resources to 

make informed decisions regarding their 

relationships 
- Program includes guest speakers, specifically 

teens, who have endured and left abusive 

relationships 
- Provides follow up services to those who need 

State Coalition: Called: N/A 
Knowledge of programs: N/A 

Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 

http://icadvinc.org/resources-stand4respect/
https://beaconofhopeindy.org/teen-talk-outreach-and-education-program.html
https://beaconofhopeindy.org/teen-talk-outreach-and-education-program.html
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf
https://www.ncsl.org/research/health/teen-dating-violence.aspx
https://www.ncsl.org/research/health/teen-dating-violence.aspx


Iowa 

 
Legal Age Statutes: 

Age of Majority: 18 

Eligibility for Emancipation: Marriage (Iowa Code 599.1) 
Contracts by Minors: For necessities (Iowa Code 599.2) 

Minors’ Ability to Sue: By minor’s guardian or by next friend 
(Iowa Rules of Civil Procedure 1.210) 
Consent for Medical Treatment: Not Specified 

 
Access to Protection from Abuse 

Orders: 
 
 

Who Can File: 

• A parent or guardian may file on behalf of minor. 
Relationship: 

• Those who are in an intimate relationship or have dated in 

the last year may file against each other. This relationship 
does not need to be sexual, but needs to be more than a 
casual social relationship. 

• There is no relationship requirement for a criminal no-
contact order against harassment, sexual abuse, and 
stalking. 

Teen-Specific Provisions: 

• The court may order the defendant to stay away from 
plaintiff’s school, place of employment, and/or residence. 

 
 
 
 
 

Access to Legal Representation: 
 

Law: 

• There is no law specifically stating that minors may be 
given legal representation, with the exception of legal 
defense for youth in delinquency cases, and representation 

for children in CINA (child in need of assistance) cases, or 
where parental rights are being terminated. 

• If someone is filing a protection order against someone who 
is 17 years or younger, the District Court will send the case 
to Juvenile Court (Iowa Code Chapter 236). 

• A guardian ad litem may be used in Juvenile Court cases to 
represent minors.  

Programs: 

• Youth Law Center  
- Provides free legal advice and free juvenile court 

representation for youth across the state of Iowa. 

- Focus on topics including abuse and neglect, sex abuse, 
family problems, and school.  

- This program is offered in multiple states. 

- 501(c)3 tax exempt organization (2018 tax report 
added to Iowa file as pdf document) 

 
 

Access to Mental Health Services: 

Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• There is nothing in the law that specifically talks about 

mental health treatment, however, a  minor may not consent 
to treatment in general unless they are married or have been 
convicted of a crime as an adult. 

Programs: 

• Children and Families of Iowa 
- Offer outreach counseling, and education about healthy 

and unhealthy relationships. 
- Main focus seems to be education, however. 

- There is a contact number for requesting education, but 
not one to request counseling services. 
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Access to Community Support 

Services: 
 

Primary Delivery Method of 
Services: Online 

• United Action for Youth 
- Provides advocacy, counseling, and mental health 

therapy services to youth victims of crime. 

- Includes adolescent victims of dating violence 

• Iowa Victim Call Center 
- Can be called 24/7, 365 days a year 

- Will help teens suffering from teen dating violence 

• Sculpt Domestic Violence Intervention Program 
- Offers support and advocacy services to victims and 

survivors of domestic abuse, stalking, dating violence, 
and human trafficking. 

- Awarded a grant from Verizon Wireless’ HopeLine 

Program to work with a social media agency to raise 
awareness about teen dating violence, while 

empowering active bystanders to speak out. 
- Their goals include sparking conversation within the 

community, increase engagement and awareness about 

dating violence, and grow their presence on Facebook 
and Instagram. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

Law: 

• There are no laws in Iowa for teen dating violence. 

Programs: 

• Iowa Legal Aid: Teen Rights in Your Dating Relationship 
- Does not provide any direct service, but has helpful tips 

online including: 
- What is dating violence? 
- What can I do if my partner has abused me? 

- What is a protective order? 
- Can I file a protection order on my own? 

- How do I get a protective order? 
- Can I get an attorney? 
- What happens at the hearing? 

- Will other people find out that I got a protective order? 
- What else can I do besides get a protective order? 
- How can I tell if my friend is being abused? 

- How can I help my friend if I think she is being 
abused? 

- What should I say to my friend if he has abused his 
girlfriend? 

• Cedar Valley Friends of the Family 

- Private 501(c)3 nonprofit providing crisis services to 
Northeast Iowa 

- Offers violence prevention education to youth and 

adults, preschool and up. 
- Topics include sexual abuse prevention, bullying, and 

teen dating violence. 

• Deaf Iowans Against Abuse 
- Available to share and educate about issues 

surrounding teen dating violence, stalking, bullying, 

and deaf culture. 
- Presentations and education available to community 

organizations, law enforcement personnel, emergency 
medical services, fire departments, schools, and 
business. 
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Sources: 

• Youth Law Center: https://ylc.org/ 

• Polk County, IA Network of Care Health Services Youth Law Center:  

https://polk.ia.networkofcare.org/mh/services/agency.aspx?pid=YouthLawCenter_222_2_0  

• Children and Families of Iowa:  https://cfiowa.org/2012/02/teen-dating-violence-awareness-

prevention-month/ 

• Sculpt Domestic Violence Intervention Program: https://wearesculpt.com/work/domestic-

violence-intervention-program/ 

• Iowa Victim Service Call Center: http://www.familycrisiscenters.org/iowa-victim-service-

call-center.php 

• United Action for Youth: https://www.unitedactionforyouth.org/ 

• Cedar Valley Friends of the Family: 

https://volunteeriowa.galaxydigital.com/agency/detail/?agency_id=40485 

• Iowa Legal Aid: https://www.iowalegalaid.org/resource/teens-rights-in-your-dating-

relationship 

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit:  States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order, 2015 

 

 

State Coalition: 
 

 

Called: 2/20/20 
Knowledge of programs: Yes 
Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 

https://ylc.org/
https://polk.ia.networkofcare.org/mh/services/agency.aspx?pid=YouthLawCenter_222_2_0
https://cfiowa.org/2012/02/teen-dating-violence-awareness-prevention-month/
https://cfiowa.org/2012/02/teen-dating-violence-awareness-prevention-month/
https://wearesculpt.com/work/domestic-violence-intervention-program/
https://wearesculpt.com/work/domestic-violence-intervention-program/
http://www.familycrisiscenters.org/iowa-victim-service-call-center.php
http://www.familycrisiscenters.org/iowa-victim-service-call-center.php
https://www.unitedactionforyouth.org/
https://volunteeriowa.galaxydigital.com/agency/detail/?agency_id=40485
https://www.iowalegalaid.org/resource/teens-rights-in-your-dating-relationship
https://www.iowalegalaid.org/resource/teens-rights-in-your-dating-relationship
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf


Kansas  

Legal Age Statutes: 
 
 
 

Source: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/kansas-law/kansas-legal-
ages-laws.html 

Age of Majority: 18 years old, or 16 if you are married 

Eligibility for Emancipation: At discretion of courts 
Contracts by Minors: Valid for necessities; may consummate 

insurance contracts but must have consent of parents. 
Minors’ Ability to Sue: Through infants representative; if no 
representative, then through next friend or guardian ad litem. 

Consent for Medical Treatment: Unmarried pregnant minor may 
consent to hospital, medical, and surgical care; or any minor 
over 16. 

 
 

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

 
 
 

Who Can File: 

• You must be over 18 to file for a petition from abuse order. 
A parent of or an adult residing with a minor child may 
seek relief under the protection from abuse act on behalf of 

the minor child. 
Relationship: 

• You can file against a partner that you are or were in a 

dating relationship with. The judge may look at the nature 
of the relationship, length of relationship, frequency of 
interaction, and time since termination of relationship.  

Teen-Specific Provisions: 

• N/A 
 

 
Access to Legal Representation: 

 

Source: https://njdc.info/practice-policy-resources/state-
profiles/kansas/ 

Law: 

• Youth in juvenile court have the right to counsel at every 
stage of the proceedings. These are only for defense 
services for misdemeanor and felony cases. 

Programs: 

• N/A 

 
Access to Mental Health Services: 

 
Source: https://www.mmicgroup.com/PDF/KS_Advisory02.pdf 

Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• If a  minor is at least 14 years old, they can admit 

themselves for treatment; however, a  parent or guardian 
will be notified that the minor is receiving treatment. 

Programs: 

• N/A 

 
 

Access to Community Support 
Services: 

 
Delivery Method of Services: 

Community/Online 

• SOS Kansas: Teen Dating Violence 
- Teens can access free, confidential SOS services just 

like adults by calling their hotline. 

- Website also gives information about what dating 
violence looks like and warning signs of abuse.  

• Empowered Families Kansas Project: Youth Mentoring 

Across Kansas: 
- Provide mentorship for youth ages 8-18 who have 

experienced domestic violence, teen dating violence, 

and co-occurring bullying.  
- Each site has a youth advocate mentor who works one 

on one with youth and their non-abusing parents and 
caregivers. 

 

https://statelaws.findlaw.com/kansas-law/kansas-legal-ages-laws.html
https://statelaws.findlaw.com/kansas-law/kansas-legal-ages-laws.html
https://njdc.info/practice-policy-resources/state-profiles/kansas/
https://njdc.info/practice-policy-resources/state-profiles/kansas/
https://www.mmicgroup.com/PDF/KS_Advisory02.pdf
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Sources: 

• Jana’s Campaign: https://www.janascampaign.org/secondary-education.html 

• SOS Kansas:  http://soskansas.com/get-help/teen-dating-violence/ 

• Kansas Coalition Against Sexual & Domestic Violence: Empowered Families Kansas 

Project: Youth Mentoring 

• Kansas Department of Health and Environment, Sexual Violence Prevention and Education: 

Theater Project: The Outrage 

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit: States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order, 2015 

 

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

Law: 

• N/A 
Programs: 

• The Outrage: An Educational Journey Through Teen Dating 
Violence and Sexual Assault 
- Is an original performance piece 

- Cast consists of high school students 
- Organized by SAFEHOME 
- During each performance, cards are handed out with 

resource information on them (national resources) 
- Scripts are only available through purchase. 

• Jana’s Campaign 
- Funding from grants total more than $47,000 
- Works with secondary schools 

- Curricular and co-curricular programming for students, 
as well as trainings for teachers, administrators, school 
staff, and more.  

- Increase the scope and scale of prevention work 

State Coalition: Called: N/A  
Knowledge of programs: N/A 
Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 

https://www.janascampaign.org/secondary-education.html
http://soskansas.com/get-help/teen-dating-violence/
https://www.kcsdv.org/kcsdvs-empowered-families-kansas-project/
https://www.kcsdv.org/kcsdvs-empowered-families-kansas-project/
https://cdn.ymaws.com/www.safestates.org/resource/resmgr/Files/Layout_KANSAS_Sexual__Teen_D.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf


Kentucky 

Legal Age Statutes: Age of Majority: 18 

Eligibility for Emancipation: Through marriage, separation from 
parents and self-supporting, or by court order  

Contracts by Minors: Common law, except for contracts for 
higher education and insurance  
Minors’ Ability to Sue: By guardian or next friend. If married, 

minors may sue on their own  
Consent for Medical Treatment: Minors of any age will consent 
to emergency care. Additionally, minors may consent to 

treatment for STDs, drug and alcohol abuse, and pregnancy.  

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

 
 

Who Can File: 

• Minors will need consent from a parent or guardian to file 
protection orders 

Relationship: 

• Current and former spouses, those who live or have lived 
together, individuals related by blood or marriage, and 

those with mutual children may file against each other.  
Teen-Specific Provisions: 

• The court may order the respondent to stay away from the 
petitioner’s home, school, place of work, or any other place 
the court determines.  

Access to Legal Representation: 
 
 

Source:  https://njdc.info/practice-policy-resources/state-
profiles/kentucky/ 

Law: 

• Kentucky law only mentions providing legal representation 
to minors in defense cases.  

Programs: 

• N/A 

Access to Mental Health Services: 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
Source:  https://statelaws.findlaw.com/kentucky-law/kentucky-

legal-ages-laws.html 

Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• At 16, minors may consent to outpatient mental health 
services. 

Programs: 

• The Center for Women and Families 
- Specialized counseling groups for teens who have 

experienced dating violence  

- Victims receive support from staff and peers 
- Minimizes feeling of loneliness and offers learning 

experiences through group discussion 

- Staff maintain a confidential, emotionally safe, and 
supportive environment, 

Access to Community Support 
Services: 

• Cumberland Valley Domestic Violence Services: 
- In-depth safety planning 

- Offers advocacy for victims of violence 
- Provides victims with information and referrals   

- Counseling in individual and group formats 

• Kentucky Youth Program: 
- Online resources for teen dating violence 

- Individually looks at signs of dating violence in 
detail  

- Offers external resources for national services 
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Sources: 

• Cumberland Valley Domestic Violence Services: https://www.cvdvs.org 

• Kentucky Youth Advocates:  https://kyyouth.org/its-time-to-talk-promoting-healthy-dating-

relationships-among-teens/ 

• Safe Harbor: https://www.safeharborky.org/victim-information 

• The Center for Women and Families:  https://www.thecenteronline.org/get-help/247-support-

services/groups/ 

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit: States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order, 2015 

 

 

 

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

 

Source:  https://www.ncsl.org/research/health/teen-dating-
violence.aspx 

Law: 

• Kentucky law does not require schools to have teen dating 
violence education in their curriculum.  

Programs: 

• Safe Harbor: 
- Outreach staff works with various school districts 

teaching violence prevention programming 
- Taught to students in elementary, middle, and high 

school. 

- Programs include “Hands are not for Hitting”, “10 
Better Things to Do Instead of Hitting”, 

“Dangerous Dating Relationships”, and “Days of 
Respect”. 

State Coalition: Called: N/A  
Knowledge of programs: N/A 

Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 

https://www.cvdvs.org/
https://kyyouth.org/its-time-to-talk-promoting-healthy-dating-relationships-among-teens/
https://kyyouth.org/its-time-to-talk-promoting-healthy-dating-relationships-among-teens/
https://www.safeharborky.org/victim-information
https://www.thecenteronline.org/get-help/247-support-services/groups/
https://www.thecenteronline.org/get-help/247-support-services/groups/
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf


Louisiana 

Legal Age Statutes: 
 
 

Source: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/louisiana-law/louisiana-
legal-ages-laws.html 

Age of Majority: 18 years old 

Eligibility for Emancipation: Through authentic act by parent at 
age 15, through judicial consent at age 16, or marriage.  

Contracts by Minors: Contracts by minors are voidable 
Minors’ Ability to Sue: Through tutor or parent. 
Consent for Medical Treatment: May consent without parental 

consent.  

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

 

Who Can File: 

• A parent, adult household member, or district attorney may 
file on behalf of a minor.  

Relationship: 

• Dating relationships are a form of relationship covered by 
protection orders.  

• In order to determine if there is a relationship between 

victim and respondent, the length of the relationship, type 
of relationship, and the frequency of interaction between 
persons involved, will all be taken into consideration.  

Teen-Specific Provisions:  

• No specific school stay-away provision.  

 

Access to Legal Representation: 
 

Source: https://njdc.info/practice-policy-resources/state-

profiles/louisiana/ 

Law: 

• There is no specific law saying that minors may receive 
representation, with the exception of defense attorneys.   

Programs: 

• N/A 

Access to Mental Health Services: 

 

 
Source: 

http://www.ochsnerjournal.org/content/ochjnl/18/4/300.full.pdf 

Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• Minors are not currently authorized to consent for mental 
health services.  

Programs: 

• N/A 

Access to Community Support 
Services: 

 

Source: Interview with Louisiana Coalition Against Domestic 
Violence 

• There are no specific community support services because 
all programs are offered through schools.  

• Although there is not a specific number for teens, they may 

use the statewide hotline number 

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

Source: https://www.ncsl.org/research/health/teen-dating-
violence.aspx 

Law: 

• Requires public schools to provide students in grades 7-12 

instruction about teen dating violence (La. Rev. Stat. Ann. 
§17.81) 

Programs: 

• Safe Dates: Helps teens recognize healthy and unhealthy 
relationships. Only offered in middle and high schools.  

• 4th R: Includes students aged 14-15, teachers, and parents. 
Focused on reducing violent behaviors  

• Shifting Boundaries: Prevention program for middle school 
students.  
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Sources:  

• Safe Dates: https://www.crimesolutions.gov/ProgramDetails.aspx?ID=142 

• 4th R: https://youthrelationships.org 

• Shifting Boundaries: https://www.crimesolutions.gov/ProgramDetails.aspx?ID=226 

• Relationship Smart +: https://www.dibbleinstitute.org/product/relationship-smarts-plus-4-

0-classic-digital-1-year-access/ 

• Coaching Boys into Men: https://www.futureswithoutviolence.org/engaging-

men/coaching-boys-into-men/ 

• Start Strong: http://startstrong.futureswithoutviolence.org 

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit: States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order, 2015 

 

 

• Relationship Smart +: Making smart choices within 
relationships. Aims to prevent verbal (non-physical) 
aggression.  

• Coaching Boys into Men: Coach/athlete training, having 
conversations with young athletes about relationships. 
Coaches can be an effective resource.  

• Start Strong: 11 to 14-year-olds building healthy 
relationships, bringing communities together.  

State Coalition: Called: 2/20/20 and 2/27/20 
Knowledge of programs: Yes 

Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 

https://www.crimesolutions.gov/ProgramDetails.aspx?ID=142
https://youthrelationships.org/
https://www.crimesolutions.gov/ProgramDetails.aspx?ID=226
https://www.dibbleinstitute.org/product/relationship-smarts-plus-4-0-classic-digital-1-year-access/
https://www.dibbleinstitute.org/product/relationship-smarts-plus-4-0-classic-digital-1-year-access/
https://www.futureswithoutviolence.org/engaging-men/coaching-boys-into-men/
https://www.futureswithoutviolence.org/engaging-men/coaching-boys-into-men/
http://startstrong.futureswithoutviolence.org/
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf


Maine 

Legal Age Statutes: Age of Majority: 18 

Eligibility for Emancipation: Marriage or at 16 by petition 
through the district court. 

Contracts by Minors: Minors cannot be held responsible for 
contracts they’ve entered except contracts for student loans.  
Minors’ Ability to Sue: Through a guardian, parent, conservator, 

next friend, or guardian ad litem.  
Consent for Medical Treatment: If married, emancipated, in the 
military, or living separately from parents.  

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

 
 

Who Can File: 

• A parent or person who is responsible must file on behalf of 
the minor.  

Relationship: 

• Those who are currently or formerly dating each other. This 
relationship does not need to be sexual. 

Teen-Specific Provisions: 

• The court may order the defendant to stay away from 
plaintiff’s home, school, business, or place of employment.  

Access to Legal Representation: 
 
 

 
 
 

Source:  https://njdc.info/practice-policy-resources/state-
profiles/maine/ 

 
https://kidslegal.org  

Law: 

• There is no law stating that minors will be given legal 

representation, with the exception of indigent youth in 
defense cases.  

Programs: 

• Kids Legal 
- Provides online tips about court preparation and 

information on juvenile justice.  
      - Can provide direct representation or legal assistance.   

Access to Mental Health Services: 
 

 
 

Source:  https://www.schoolhouseconnection.org/state-laws-on-
minor-consent-for-routine-medical-care/ 

Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• Minors may give consent to all medical services if they are 
living separately from parents/guardians and is independent 

of parental support.  
Programs: 

• N/ 

Access to Community Support 
Services: 

 
Source:  https://www.hopeandjusticeproject.org/community-

services/#teenMonth 

• Hope & Justice Project: 
- Provides in-depth workshops with the goal of 

raising awareness of abuse and offering 
information about safety for victims.  

- Interactive workshops that can be customized for 

specific audiences.  

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

 
Source:  https://www.cpedv.org/blog-post/school-based-dating-

abuse-prevention-laws-state 

Law: 

• The DOE must review policies and rules regarding the 
training of students and faculty on dating violence 

Programs: 

• Safe Voices:  
- Provides prevention-based programs to youth in 

each county, including classroom workshops, 

https://njdc.info/practice-policy-resources/state-profiles/maine/
https://njdc.info/practice-policy-resources/state-profiles/maine/
https://kidslegal.org/
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Sources: 

• Safe Voices: https://safevoices.org/education/youth-services 

• Next Step: https://www.nextstepdvproject.org/advocacy-information/ 

• Through These Doors: http://throughthesedoors.org/yaapp-young-adult-abuse-

prevention-program/ 

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit: States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order, 2015 

 

outreach at school activities, reading groups, and 
special awareness campaigns for Teen Dating 
Violence Awareness Month.  

• Next Step: 
- Offers school-based programs to raise awareness 

about dating violence and explores the 

characteristics of healthy relationships. 

• Through These Doors: 
- The Young Adult Abuse Prevention Program 

(YAAPP) offers healthy relationship and dating 
abuse prevention programs for people 12 through 

24. 
- Provides the tools needed to recognized abuse, 

how to respond, be aware of resources.  

State Coalition: Called: N/A 

Knowledge of programs: N/A 
Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 

https://safevoices.org/education/youth-services
https://www.nextstepdvproject.org/advocacy-information/
http://throughthesedoors.org/yaapp-young-adult-abuse-prevention-program/
http://throughthesedoors.org/yaapp-young-adult-abuse-prevention-program/
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf


Maryland 

Legal Age Statutes: Age of Majority: 18 

Eligibility for Emancipation: Married if spouse is of age 
Contracts by Minors: If contract does not benefit the minor, it’s 

void. If it benefits the minor, they may receive the benefits at 18 
Minors’ Ability to Sue: By guardian, next friend, or parent  
Consent for Medical Treatment: If married, has children, or 

seeking treatment for drug use, sexual assault, alcoholism, 
pregnancy, contraception, sexual transmitted diseases, or if 
seeking consent would be life threatening.  

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

 
 

Who Can File: 

• The State’s Attorney, social services, an adult related by 
blood, marriage, or adoption, or an adult who resides in the 
minor’s home may file on their behalf.  

Relationship: 

• Current or former spouses, cohabitants, individuals who 
have children in common, and individuals who have had a 

sexual relationship within the 1 year, are eligible to file 
against one another.  

Teen-Specific Provisions: 

• The court may order the respondent to remain away from 
the place of employment, school, or residence of the 

petitioner.  

Access to Legal Representation: 
 

 
 

 
Source:  https://njdc.info/practice-policy-resources/state-

profiles/maryland/ 

Law: 

• There is no law that states that minors will receive legal 
representation, except indigent youth in defense cases.  

Programs: 

• Community Advocates for Family & Youth (CAFY): 
- Offers a court education program, designed to 

reduce anxiety of the legal process and to 
strengthen the voice of the petitioner 

Access to Mental Health Services: 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 

Source:  https://www.schoolhouseconnection.org/state-laws-on-

minor-consent-for-routine-medical-care/ 

Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• There is nothing in the law mentioning mental health 

treatment specifically, but minors may only consent if they 
live separately from their parent/guardian and is self-
supporting, regardless of income.  

Programs: 

• House of Ruth 
- Provides short-term crisis counseling and therapy 

to victims of intimate partner violence 
- Provides services specifically to victims of teen 

dating violence. 

• Community Advocates for Family and Youth (CAFY): 
- Offers psychotherapy to adolescents  

- Teens receive emotional support, learn how to 
understand feelings and problems, as well as find 
solutions 

Access to Community Support 
Services: 

• Adam’s House: 

- Promotes healthy relationship behaviors among 
adolescents and adults by reinforcing good values 
and promoting strong family bonds.  
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Sources: 

• Community Advocates for Family and Youth (CAFY): https://www.cafyonline.org 

• House of Ruth: https://hruth.org 

• Adam’s House: https://pgcasa.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/01/List-of-Domestic-Violence-

Resources-PDF.pdf 

• Dating Matters: https://health.baltimorecity.gov/node/182 

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit: States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order, 2015 

 

• House of Ruth 
- Call center that can be called 24/7, 365 days a year 
- Offers help to teens suffering from dating violence 

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
Source:  https://www.ncsl.org/research/health/teen-dating-

violence.aspx 

Law: 

• The state board of education is allowed to encourage county 
boards to have age-appropriate lessons on dating violence 
included in their health education curriculum (Md. 

Education Code. Ann. §7-411.1) 
Programs: 

• Dating Matters: 

- Looks to promote healthy relationships as a 
method of preventing dating violence 

- Part of Baltimore City Health Department’s Office 

of Youth Violence Prevention 
- Provides an in-depth community response to 

reduce exposure of middle school students in 6 th-
8th grade to dating violence  

State Coalition: Called: N/A  
Knowledge of programs: N/A 

Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 

https://www.cafyonline.org/
https://hruth.org/
https://pgcasa.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/01/List-of-Domestic-Violence-Resources-PDF.pdf
https://pgcasa.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/01/List-of-Domestic-Violence-Resources-PDF.pdf
https://health.baltimorecity.gov/node/182
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf


Massachusetts 

Legal Age Statutes: Age of Majority: 18 

Eligibility for Emancipation: There is no specific law stating 
which minor is or is not eligible for emancipation. Usually, a  

minor must file a petition with the court and preset their case 
Contracts by Minors: Contracts with minors are considered 
invalid unless for education, vehicle insurance, and life 

insurance. 
Minors’ Ability to Sue: Through a next friend or guardian ad 
litem  

Consent for Medical Treatment: Minors aged at least 12 may 
consent to appropriate medical care if drug dependent. 

Otherwise, they can consent to emergency medical care if 
married, a parent, in the military, pregnant, or lives separately 
from parents and manages their own financial affairs  

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

 
 

 

Who Can File: 

• Although preferred, it is not mandatory that an adult be 
present. The judge will generally try to secure the presence 
of a parent or guardian before proceeding but will not 

refuse to issue a protection order because no adult is 
present.  

Relationship: 

• Those who are in a relationship or were married, have a 
child in common, or have been in a substantive dating 
relationship. This is defined by the length of the 

relationship, the type of relationship, the frequency of 
interaction, and if the relationship has ended, the time that 

passed since 
Teen-Specific Provisions: 

• No school stay-away provision 

Access to Legal Representation: 
 
 

Source:  https://njdc.info/practice-policy-resources/state-
profiles/massachusetts/ 

Law: 

• There is no law specifying that minors may have legal 
representation, except in indigent delinquency cases 

Programs: 

• N/A 

Access to Mental Health Services: 
 
 

 
 

Source:  https://www.schoolhouseconnection.org/state-laws-on-
minor-consent-for-routine-medical-care/ 

Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• There is nothing specifying mental health treatments, but 
minors may consent to other medical care if living 
separately from their parents and supporting themselves 

financially. 
Programs: 

• N/A 

Access to Community Support 
Services: 

• YWCA Central Massachusetts 
- Provides violence prevention education to youth 

through high school 
- Provides trainings and workshops on dating 

violence  

- All workshops and programs are customized to fit 
the need of the audience  
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Sources: 

• YWCA Central Massachusetts:https://ywcacm.org/domestic-violence/prevention-

education/ 

• Peers Against Violence: https://reachma.org 

• Melrose Teen Dating Abuse Policy and Implementation Guide: 

https://www.melroseschools.com/sites/melrosemaps/files/uploads/melrose_teen_dating_a

buse_policy.pdf 

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit: States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order, 2015 

 

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
Source:  https://www.ncsl.org/research/health/teen-dating-

violence.aspx 

Law: 

• Requires school districts to implement policy requiring 
public schools to address teen dating violence and 

guidelines to address incidents of teen dating violence  
2010 Mass. Acts, Chap. 256 (2010 SB 2583) 

• Requires the Department of Elementary and Secondary 

Education to provide instruction on violence prevention, 
including teen dating violence 
2010 Mass. Acts, Chap. 92 (2010 SB 2404) 

Programs: 

• Peers Against ViolencE (PAVE) 
- REACH’s youth program that engages youth to 

learn about dating violence and healthy 
relationships. 

- Partners with schools using dating violence 
prevention programs built specifically for the 
needs of the community 

• Melrose Teen Dating Abuse Policy and Implementation 
Guide 

- Leverages the educational foundation of schools 

and their relationships with young people to take 
action against teen dating violence, and to 
encourage students to choose healthy relationships.  

State Coalition: Called: N/A  

Knowledge of programs: N/A 
Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 

https://ywcacm.org/domestic-violence/prevention-education/
https://ywcacm.org/domestic-violence/prevention-education/
https://reachma.org/
https://www.melroseschools.com/sites/melrosemaps/files/uploads/melrose_teen_dating_abuse_policy.pdf
https://www.melroseschools.com/sites/melrosemaps/files/uploads/melrose_teen_dating_abuse_policy.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf


Michigan 

Legal Age Statutes: Age of Majority: 18 

Eligibility for Emancipation: Through marriage, military 
service, or petition at age 16 

Contracts by Minors: For necessities only 
Minors’ Ability to Sue: By next friend or guardian of estate 
Consent for Medical Treatment: If pregnant, for substance abuse 

treatment, or venereal disease treatment 

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

 
 

Who Can File: 

• It is not clear whether a minor can file a petition without an 
adult 

Relationship: 

• Those who have or currently are married, those who have 
mutual children, individuals in a dating relationship, and 

anyone who lived in the same household may file against 
each other  

Teen-Specific Provisions: 

• The court may order the respondent to stay away from the 
petitioner’s place of employment and school 

Access to Legal Representation: 
 
 

Source: https://njdc.info/practice-policy-resources/state-
profiles/michigan/ 

Law: 

• There is no law specifying that minors will receive legal 

assistance, except in juvenile delinquency cases. 
Programs: 

• Shelterhouse: 

– Offers court accompaniment 

Access to Mental Health Services: 
 
 
 

Source: https://www.michigan.gov/documents/mdch/ 
Michigan_Minor_Consent_Laws_June20093_392440_7.pdf 

Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• Minors may consent to limited outpatient mental health 
treatment at 14 or older for 12 sessions or 4 months of 

counseling. 
Programs: 

• Shelterhouse: 
– Offers support groups 

Access to Community Support 
Services: 

• Shelterhouse: 
- Provides a crisis hotline which can be called 24/7, 

365 days a year 

- Has online materials to help teens identify 
different types of dating violence and offers safety 

planning for ending the relationship 
- Offers emergency shelter 
- Helps with safety planning 

- One-on-one talks with advocates 

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

Law: 

• There is no law stating that schools must educate on dating 
violence  

Programs: 

• Ok2Say: 
- Allows students or teachers to report potentially 

violent behaviors 
- Available state-wide to both public and private 

schools in Michigan 

- Trained technicians receive tips and send the 
information to the appropriate agency 

https://www.michigan.gov/documents/mdch/
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Sources: 

• Michigan’s Ok2Say: https://www.michigan.gov/ok2say/ 

• Shelterhouse: https://shelterhousemidland.org 

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit:  States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order, 2015 

 

• Shelterhouse: 
- Offers school programming and prevention 

programs 

- Training in safety skills 

State Coalition: Called: N/A  

Knowledge of programs: N/A 
Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 

https://www.michigan.gov/ok2say/
https://shelterhousemidland.org/
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf


Minnesota 

Legal Age Statutes: Age of Majority: 18 

Eligibility for Emancipation: Not specified 
Contracts by Minors: For necessities only 

Minors’ Ability to Sue: By guardian ad litem, general guardian, 
relative, or friend at age 14 
Consent for Medical Treatment: If living apart from parents and 

supporting themselves, married, a parent, or for pregnancy  

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

 
 

Who Can File: 

• Minors at the age of 16 may petition on their own behalf 
against a current or former spouse, or a person they have a 

child with. Otherwise, a  parent, guardian, or stepparent may 
file on a minor’s behalf.  

Relationship: 

• Those who are current or former spouses, related by blood, 
individuals who live or have lived together in the past, 
individuals who have a child in common, and people 

involved in romantic or sexual relationships may file 
against one another.  

Teen-Specific Provisions: 

• No school stay-away provision 

Access to Legal Representation: 
 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 

Source: https://njdc.info/practice-policy-resources/state-
profiles/minnesota/ 

Law: 

• There is no law specifying that minors will be given legal 
representation, except in juvenile delinquency cases.  

Programs: 

• Alexandra House: 

- Offers free legal advocacy, confidentially 
- Assists through the criminal and protective court 

process 

- Assists in filing protection orders 

• Tubman’s Youth and Young Adult Program (YAYA): 
- Legal advocates assist youth with obtaining 

protection orders. 
- Will write the order for the youth and assist in 

filing 

- Provides court accompaniment and support after 
regarding the legal order.  

Access to Mental Health Services: 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 

Source: 

https://www.house.leg.state.mn.us/hrd/pubs/ss/ssminorhc.pdf 

Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• Minors may consent to mental health services at the age of 

16 
Programs: 

• Cornerstone  

- Provides assessment, treatment, and continuing 
support to minors impacted by interpersonal 
violence.  

- Utilizes a trauma-informed approach 
- Focus on therapy  

Access to Community Support 
Services: 

• Tubman’s Youth and Young Adult Program (YAYA): 
- Assists ages 10-24 who have experienced partner 

violence 
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Sources:  

• Alexandra House: https://www.alexandrahouse.org 

• Tubman’s Youth and Young Adult Program (YAYA): https://www.tubman.org/get-

help/youth-programs/ 

• Cornerstone: https://www.cornerstonemn.org 

• KNOW Abuse: https://www.cornerstonemn.org/for-youth/school-based-services/ 

• The Choose Respect Program: https://www.alexandrahouse.org/our-services/youth-

services/ 

• Youth Leadership Institute: https://www.alexandrahouse.org/our-services/youth-services/ 

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit:  States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order 

 

- Advocates will meet with youth at home or at 
another safe location to discuss unhealthy or 
unsafe relationships 

- Over the course of 6 visits, the advocate will 
develop a plan to access support groups, therapy, 
safe housing, etc. 

- Will address immediate safety issues 

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

Law: 

• There is no law specifying that schools must provide 

education on teen dating violence 
Programs: 

• KNOW Abuse:  

- Offers education and violence prevention 
programs at elementary, middle, and high schools 

- Classroom based education program 

- Specifically addresses teen dating violence 

• The Choose Respect Program: 
- Designed by the CDC 

- Involves youth to encourage their peers to choose 
and promote respect in relationships 

• Youth Leadership Institute: 

- Offers high-school aged youth the opportunity to 
examine topics including teen dating violence, 
domestic violence, and sexual assault, more 

closely.  
- Students who complete the program receive 

certificates, eligible for use on professional 
applications.   

State Coalition: Called:2/20/20 and 3/5/20 
Knowledge of programs: Yes 

Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 

https://www.alexandrahouse.org/
https://www.tubman.org/get-help/youth-programs/
https://www.tubman.org/get-help/youth-programs/
https://www.cornerstonemn.org/
https://www.cornerstonemn.org/for-youth/school-based-services/
https://www.alexandrahouse.org/our-services/youth-services/
https://www.alexandrahouse.org/our-services/youth-services/
https://www.alexandrahouse.org/our-services/youth-services/
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf


Mississippi 

Legal Age Statutes: Age of Majority: 21 

Eligibility for Emancipation: By petition, no minimum age 
specified 

Contracts by Minors: 18 for personal property, must be done in 
writing 
Minors’ Ability to Sue: 18 to settle injury claims; married 

minors may file in marital matters, but guardian ad litem will be 
appointed  
Consent for Medical Treatment: Not Specified 

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

 

Who Can File: 

• Parents, adult household members, or a next friend may file 
on behalf of a minor 

Relationship: 

• Spouses or former spouses, individuals who are having or 
already have children, those who live together, or 
individuals in a dating relationship may file against each 

other.  
Teen-Specific Provisions: 

• Court may order the respondent to stay away from the 
petitioner’s residence, school, and place of work.  

Access to Legal Representation: 
 
 
 

 
 

 
 

Source: https://njdc.info/practice-policy-resources/state-

profiles/mississippi/ 

Law: 

• There is no law specifying that minors will receive legal 
representation except in juvenile defense cases.  

Programs: 

• Mississippi Coalition Against Domestic Violence: 

- Offers legal services to victims of interpersonal 
violence 

- Provides emergency legal assistance 

- Intervention with administrative agencies, such as 
schools/colleges 

Access to Mental Health Services: 
 
 
 

 
 
 

 
Source: https://ndaa.org/wp-content/uploads/Minor-Consent-to-

Medical-Treatment-2.pdf 

Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• Minors are required to have consent via parent, guardian, 
adult brother or sister, or grandparent for all health services 

until 18. 
Programs: 

• Care Lodge: 

- Offers counseling to enable healing  
- Provides educational sessions in addition to 

therapeutic services for both individuals and 
groups 

Access to Community Support 
Services: 

• Care Lodge: 
- Offers the National Teen Dating Abuse Hotline as 

well as their own personal hotline. 

- Provides access to a downloadable teen safety plan 
- Offers Protection Order assistance  

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

Law: 

• There is no law including information about dating violence 

in schools. 
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Sources:  

• Mississippi Coalition Against Domestic Violence:https://mcadv.org 

• Care Lodge: https://www.carelodge.com/what-we-do/victim-services/counseling-

individual-group.html 

• Teen Advisory Council: https://mcadv.org/teen-program/ 

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit:  States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order 

Programs: 

• Mississippi Coalition Against Domestic Violence: 
- Speaks in schools about teen dating violence 

- Provides school districts with announcements 
during Teen Dating Violence Awareness Month, 
referring teens in trouble to text “loveis” to find 

resources.  

• Teen Advisory Council:  
- Raises awareness about Teen Dating Violence 

- Promotes awareness regarding healthy and 
unhealthy relationships  

- Compromised of 10-12 teens aged 13-18 
- Council members selects workshop topics, 

organize speakers, and investigate other 

opportunities to raise awareness about Teen Dating 
Violence. 

- Part of the Mississippi Coalition Against Domestic 

Violence 

State Coalition: Called: 2/20/20 
Knowledge of programs: Yes 

Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 

https://mcadv.org/
https://www.carelodge.com/what-we-do/victim-services/counseling-individual-group.html
https://www.carelodge.com/what-we-do/victim-services/counseling-individual-group.html
https://mcadv.org/teen-program/
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf


Missouri 

Legal Age Statutes: Age of Majority: 18 

Eligibility for Emancipation: Through marriage 
Contracts by Minors: May be ratified after 18 

Minors’ Ability to Sue: By guardian, next friend, or court 
appointed  
Consent for Medical Treatment: Minor may consent at age 16 if 

homeless, a victim of domestic violence, self-supporting, or the 
parent or legal guardian has consented to the minor living 
separately from their control.  

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

 
 

Who Can File: 

• Minors who are 17 may file on their own behalf, but any 
minor under 17 must have a parent, guardian, guardian ad 
litem, or court-appointed advocate file on their behalf 

unless otherwise emancipated. 
Relationship: 

• Anyone who is or has been married, relatives by blood, 
individuals who are currently or have lived together, anyone 
who has a mutual child, or have had a romantic or sexual 

relationship may file against each other.  
Teen-Specific Provisions: 

• No specific school stay-away provision 

Access to Legal Representation: 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

Source: https://njdc.info/practice-policy-resources/state-
profiles/missouri/ 

Law: 

• There is no law stating that minors will be given legal 
representation except in juvenile delinquency cases.  

Programs: 

• Hope House: 
- A coordinated community response to domestic 

violence 

- Court advocates attend 13 area courts, including 
Order of Protection Court 

- Works directly with police departments to hold 

offenders accountable 
- Advocates are available to victims throughout the 

civil and criminal court process 
- Assist with safety planning 

Access to Mental Health Services: Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• There is no law specifically mentioning consent to mental 

health services 
Programs: 

• Hope House: 

- Offers comprehensive therapeutic services at no 
cost  

- Assists survivors heal from trauma of violence, 

regain a sense of empowerment, and recovering a 
sense of self. 

- Offers individual or group therapy  

• DeafLEAD: 
- Offers free mental health services to deaf, hard of 

hearing, deafblind, and late-deafened victims 

- Allows deaf individuals to examine issues they’ve 
been having and set goals to improve life 



DVCC HR12 Report, 2020  Summary of TDV Services in Other States  
  Missouri 
 

 

Sources: 

• Hope House: http://www.hopehouse.net 

• DeafLEAD: https://www.deafinc.org/deaflead/index.html 

• Teen Institute: https://www.deafinc.org/deaflead/teen-institute.html 

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit:  States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order 

Access to Community Support 
Services: 

• DeafLEAD: 
- Offers 24-hour crisis interpreting via videophone, 

FaceTime, or Skype. 

- Other victim’s services may use this service to 
help victims in their care 

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

Law: 

• There is no law mandating that Teen Dating Violence be in 

school curriculum.  
Programs: 

• Teen Institute: 

- Part of DeafLEAD 
- A 6-day summer camp for deaf or hard of hearing 

teens 

- Curriculum focused on domestic violence, as well 
as other critical issues to teenagers 

State Coalition: Called: N/A  

Knowledge of programs: N/A  
Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 

http://www.hopehouse.net/
https://www.deafinc.org/deaflead/index.html
https://www.deafinc.org/deaflead/teen-institute.html
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf


Montana 

Legal Age Statutes: Age of Majority: 18 

Eligibility for Emancipation: By marriage or by petition at age 
16 

Contracts by Minors: Necessities only 
Minors’ Ability to Sue: Through general guardian or guardian 
ad litem 

Consent for Medical Treatment: If emancipated, separated from 
parents and self-supported, pregnant, has a child, graduated 
from high school, or needs emergency care 

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

 
 

Who Can File: 

• A parent, guardian ad litem, or other representative must 
file on behalf of a minor 

Relationship: 

• Regardless of the individual’s relationship to the offender, 
an individual may file against another if they are a victim of 
aggravated assault, stalking, sexual assault, sexual 

intercourse without consent, or if they are a partner or 
family member of a victim of deliberate homicide.  

Teen-Specific Provisions: 

• The court may order the respondent to stay 1,500 feet, or 
other appropriate distance, from the petitioner’s home, 

school, place of work, other specified places frequently 
visited, and family or household members. 

Access to Legal Representation: 
 
 

 
 
 

 
Source: https://njdc.info/practice-policy-resources/state-

profiles/montana/ 

Law: 

• There is no law specifying that minors will receive legal 

representation, with the exception of juvenile defense cases.  
Programs: 

• Sexual Assault Legal Services Program (SALS): 

- Part of the Montana Coalition Against Domestic 
and Sexual Violence 

- Allows parent referrals of minors 

- Will discuss legal needs and interact directly with 
the victim 

Access to Mental Health Services: Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• Minor consent for mental health treatment is not 
specifically mentioned in Montana law 

Programs: 

• N/A 

Access to Community Support 
Services: 

• Montana Coalition Against Domestic and Sexual Violence: 

- Has online resources for teens suffering from teen 
dating violence 

- Includes discussion about Teen Dating Violence 

Awareness Month 

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

 
Source: https://www.ncsl.org/research/health/teen-dating-

violence.aspx 

Law: 

• There is no law mandating that Teen Dating Violence be 
addressed in schools.  

Programs: 

• Sexual Violence Prevention and Victim Services (SVPVS) 
- Curriculums implemented in middle schools and 

high schools to teach skills that help prevent 
violence 
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Sources:  

• Sexual Assault Legal Services Program: https://mcadsv.com/what-we-do/sexual-assault-

legal-services-program/ 

• Montana Coalition Against Domestic and Sexual Violence: https://mcadsv.com 

• Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services, Family and Community Health 

Bureau, Sexual Violence Prevention and Victim Services (SVPVS): 

https://dphhs.mt.gov/publichealth/adolescenthealth  

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit:  States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order 

- Includes healthy relationship skills, social-
emotional learning, empowerment-based trainings, 
and promoting healthy sexuality.  

- Also covers domestic violence 

State Coalition: Called: N/A  

Knowledge of programs: N/A 
Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 

https://mcadsv.com/what-we-do/sexual-assault-legal-services-program/
https://mcadsv.com/what-we-do/sexual-assault-legal-services-program/
https://mcadsv.com/
https://dphhs.mt.gov/publichealth/adolescenthealth
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf


Nebraska 

Legal Age Statutes: Age of Majority: 19 

Eligibility for Emancipation: Marriage, enlistment in the 
military, or as approved by the court  

Contracts by Minors: Common law applies 
Minors’ Ability to Sue: Except as provided in probate code, 
must be executed by guardian or next friend 

Consent for Medical Treatment: Emancipated minors, including 
college students away from home. Minors may also consent to 
drug/alcohol treatment and contraceptive services. 

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

 
 

Who Can File: 

• Code does not specify whether minors may file on their 
own, however any victim of domestic abuse or harassment, 
including stalking, may file protection orders.  

Relationship: 

• Spouses or former spouses, individuals who live or who 
have lived together in the past, those who have a mutual 

child, or those who have or are currently dating may file 
against each other. 

Teen-Specific Provisions: 

• No school stay-away provision 
 

Access to Legal Representation: 
 
 

Source: https://njdc.info/practice-policy-resources/state-
profiles/nebraska/ 

Law: 

• The law only states that minors in juvenile delinquency 
cases will receive representation 

Programs: 

• N/A 

Access to Mental Health Services: 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

Source:  https://ndaa.org/wp-content/uploads/Minor-Consent-to-
Medical-Treatment-2.pdf 

Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• Individuals cannot consent to mental health services until 
18. Minors will need to either be emancipated or have 
someone consent on their behalf.  

Programs: 

• Voices of Hope:  
- Provides domestic violence support groups for 

those who currently are or were in abusive 
relationships.  

- Offers free weekly drop-in support groups  

Access to Community Support 
Services: 

• Voices of Hope: 
- Provides training to professionals who work with 

victims, like teachers, mental health professionals, 
law enforcement, clergy, and health professionals 
on domestic violence and prevention 

- Offers 24-hour crisis line and 24 hour-a-day 
advocacy. Advocates respond to calls from law 

enforcement and hospitals to assist victims 
- Offers daily walk-in services 

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

 

Law: 

• Requires the state department of education to develop 

policies mandating schools to have teen dating violence 
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Sources: 

• Voices of Hope:  https://www.voicesofhopelincoln.org 

• School Community Intervention & Prevention (SCIP): https://scipnebraska.com 

• Nebraska Coalition to End Sexual and Domestic Violence: 

https://www.nebraskacoalition.org 

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit:  States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

Source:  https://www.ncsl.org/research/health/teen-dating-
violence.aspx 

addressed in their curriculum Neb. Rev. Stat.§ 43 Sec. 79-
2,142 (2009 LB 63) 

Programs: 

• School Community Intervention & Prevention (SCIP): 
- Provides education to those working with minors 

through meetings, workshops, and conferences.  

- Every year SCIP offers a 4-day training for school 
staff members who serve as SCIP Team members 

in their schools 
- Trains staff members to identify, intervene, refer, 

and support students who may need help 

- SCIP is also available for individual presentations  

State Coalition: Called: N/A 
Knowledge of programs: N/A 

Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 

https://www.voicesofhopelincoln.org/
https://scipnebraska.com/
https://www.nebraskacoalition.org/
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf


Nevada 

Legal Age Statutes: Age of Majority: 18 

Eligibility for Emancipation: 16 by court order 
Contracts by Minors: Common law; valid if emancipated 

Minors’ Ability to Sue: By general guardian or guardian ad 
litem  
Consent for Medical Treatment: If emancipated, living 

separately from parents, married, has a sexually transmitted 
disease, or has a child 

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

 
 

Who Can File: 

• Parents or guardians must file on behalf of minors for 

temporary or extended orders against a person 18 years or 
older. 

Relationship: 

• Those who are currently or formerly married, those related 
by blood or marriage, any individuals who currently or have 
lived together, those with a mutual child, or any individuals 

in a dating relationship may file against one another. 
Teen-Specific Provisions: 

• The court may order the respondent to stay away from 
residence, school, business, or place of work. Additionally, 
the court can name additional locations the respondent must 

stay away from. 

Access to Legal Representation: 
 

 
Source:  https://njdc.info/practice-policy-resources/state-

profiles/nevada/ 

Law: 

• Nevada law only specifies that legal representation be given 
to minors in juvenile delinquency cases 

Programs: 

• N/A 

Access to Mental Health Services: Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• Nevada law does not specifically mention minor consent to 
mental health services.  

Programs: 

• S.A.F.E. House: 
- Offers counseling services to victims of domestic 

violence 
- Offers support groups  
- Available to both adults and minors after leaving 

the shelter 

• Safe Embrace: 
- Offers free therapy by appointment 

- Helps victims explore feelings and find ways to 
cope 

- Additionally, offers a 24-hour crisis hotline 

Access to Community Support 
Services: 

• S.A.F.E. House: 
- Participates in outreach events throughout the 

community to promote awareness and inform 

people of services they provide 
- Hosts events through the year to increase 

awareness of violence in relationships, and to 

educate and explore new ways to end violence 
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Sources: 

• S.A.F.E. House:  https://safehousenv.org 

• Teen Dating Violence Council: https://safehousenv.org/teen-dating-violence-council/ 

• Safe Embrace:http://www.safeembrace.org/services/therapy/ 

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit:  States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order 

- Offers an online, step-by-step guide on how to 
create a safety plan 

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

Law: 

• Nevada law does not mandate that teen dating violence be 
included in school curriculum. 

Programs: 

• S.A.F.E. House: 
- Offers training and educational presentations, to all 

age groups, relating to domestic violence 

• Teen Dating Violence Council 
- Facilitated by S.A.F.E. House 
- Offers teens ages 14-18 training, who want to offer 

more information to and make a difference in their 
communities 

- Directed by teens and facilitated by staff, teens 

directly address teen dating violence 

State Coalition: Called: N/A  
Knowledge of programs: N/A 

Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 

https://safehousenv.org/
https://safehousenv.org/teen-dating-violence-council/
http://www.safeembrace.org/services/therapy/
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf


New Hampshire 

Legal Age Statutes: Age of Majority: 18 

Eligibility for Emancipation: Not specified, although automatic 
through marriage or military enlistment 

Contracts by Minors: Can join with spouse in release of 
homestead interests 
Minors’ Ability to Sue: By next friend or the court may appoint 

guardian ad litem  
Consent for Medical Treatment: 12 or older may consent to drug 
treatment; otherwise, someone else will need to consent on their 

behalf 

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

 
 

Who Can File: 

• Minors may file protection orders without the presence of a 
parent or guardian 

Relationship: 

• Current and former spouses, individuals living together past 
or present, or those currently or formerly involved in a 

romantic relationship 
- The relationship does not need to be sexual 

Teen-Specific Provisions: 

• The court may order the defendant to not contact the 
petitioner, and to stay away from their place of work, 

school, or any place they frequently visit. Additionally, the 
court may order the respondent to stay away from any 
family or household member of the petitioner.  

Access to Legal Representation: 
 

 
Source:  https://njdc.info/practice-policy-resources/state-

profiles/newhampshire/ 

Law: 

• New Hampshire law only specifies that minors be given 
legal representation in juvenile defense cases 

Programs: 

• N/A 

Access to Mental Health Services: Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• New Hampshire law does not specify about minor consent 
to mental health services, though in most cases for normal 
health care, someone must consent on the minor’s behalf 

Programs: 

• N/A 

Access to Community Support 
Services: 

• Victims Inc. 
- Provides trauma intervention 

- Follows up on every trauma call to ensure victim 
receives the right services and referrals 

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

Law: 

• New Hampshire law does not mandate schools to have teen 

dating violence in their curriculum 
Programs: 

• The New Hampshire Campus Consortium Against Sexual 

and Interpersonal Violence: 
- State-wide associate of colleges, universities, 

stakeholders, and community partners 

- Provides a forum to share resources, develop, and 
implement prevention and intervention programs 
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Sources: 

• The New Hampshire Campus Consortium Against Sexual and Interpersonal Violence: 

https://nhcampusconsortium.org/about/ 

• Victims Inc: http://www.victimsinc.org 

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit:  States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order 

- Addresses violence against women, specifically 
domestic, dating, and sexual violence 

State Coalition: Called: N/A  

Knowledge of programs: N/A 
Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 

https://nhcampusconsortium.org/about/
http://www.victimsinc.org/
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf


New Jersey 

Legal Age Statutes: Age of Majority: 18 

Eligibility for Emancipation: Not Specified 
Contracts by Minors: 17, if minor’s spouse for sale of property 

or 15 for insurance contracts 
Minors’ Ability to Sue: By guardian or guardian ad litem 
Consent for Medical Treatment: If married or pregnant  

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

 
 

Who Can File: 

• Code does not specify if minors may file for protection 
orders from abuse, but they are required to have a parent or 
guardian file for stalking restraining orders 

Relationship: 

• Those who are at least 18 or an emancipated minor and are 
subject to domestic violence by current or former spouse 

may file against one another. Additionally, there is no age 
requirement for those who have a mutual child or 
individuals in a dating relationship, to file against each 

other. 
Teen-Specific Provisions: 

• The court may order the respondent to stay away from the 
petitioner’s home, property, school, or place of 
employment. The court may also order the defendant to stay 

away from additional locations the petitioner frequently 
visits. 

Access to Legal Representation: 
 
 

 
 
 

 
Source:  https://njdc.info/practice-policy-resources/state-

profiles/newjersey/ 

Law: 

• New Jersey law does not say minors will be given legal 

representation with the exception of defense cases 
Programs: 

• New Jersey Coalition to End Domestic Violence: 

- Offers online resources to help victims prepare for 
domestic violence trials  

- Provides court system basics to ensure victims are 

prepared for the civic and legal process 

Access to Mental Health Services: 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
Source:  https://ndaa.org/wp-content/uploads/Minor-Consent-to-

Medical-Treatment-2.pdf 

Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• Minors’ ability to consent to health treatments are not 
specified specifically in New Jersey Law 

Programs: 

• Women Rising: 
- Offers 24-hour hotline 

- Offers support groups  
- Provides resources and referrals  
- Provides counseling and support 

• Center for Hope and Safety 
- Offers 24-hour hotline 
- Offers programs designed to stabilize a minor’s 

environment.  
- Offers therapy to minors 

Access to Community Support 
Services: 

• Domestic Violence Response Team (DVRT): 
- Trains police department volunteers to respond to 

police stations immediately following any 
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Sources:  

• Women Rising: https://www.womenrising.org 

• Domestic Violence Response Team: https://avanzarnow.org/programs-services/vip/ 

• Center for Hope and Safety: https://www.hopeandsafetynj.org 

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit: States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order, 2015 

 

domestic violence incident, ensuring the victim has 
all the services and information they need. 

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

 
 

Source:  https://www.ncsl.org/research/health/teen-dating-
violence.aspx 

Law: 

• Allows the board of education to teach the psychology and 
dynamics of teen dating violence to elementary, middle, 
and high school students N.J. Stat. Ann. §18A:35-4.23 

(2003 SB 487/AB 3081) 
Programs: 

• N/A 

State Coalition: Called: N/A 

Knowledge of programs: N/A 
Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 

https://www.womenrising.org/
https://avanzarnow.org/programs-services/vip/
https://www.hopeandsafetynj.org/
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf


New Mexico 

Legal Age Statutes: Age of Majority: 18 

Eligibility for Emancipation: At 16, through marriage, military 
service, or court petition 

Contracts by Minors: Minors aren’t considered to have legal 
capacity to enter into contracts 
Minors’ Ability to Sue: By guardian, guardian ad litem, or next 

friend. 
Consent for Medical Treatment: Any married, previously 
married, or emancipated minor. Additionally, minors may 

consent to tests for STDs 

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

 
 

Who Can File: 

• The code does not state whether minors may file on their 
own  

Relationship: 

• Those who are or have been married, parents, present or 
former stepparent, grandparents, children, or those in dating 

or intimate relationships may be filed against.  
Teen-Specific Provisions: 

• No school stay-away provision 

Access to Legal Representation: 
 

 
Source:  https://njdc.info/practice-policy-resources/state-

profiles/newmexico/ 

Law: 

• New Mexico law only says that minors will be given legal 
representation in juvenile delinquency cases 

Programs: 

• N/A 

Access to Mental Health Services: 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 

Source:  https://ndaa.org/wp-content/uploads/Minor-Consent-to-

Medical-Treatment-2.pdf 

Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• New Mexico law does not mention a minor’s ability to 
consent for mental health treatment 

Programs: 

• Community Against Violence: 
- Offers 24-hour crisis hotline 

• Haven House: 
- Offers support groups in shelters and in 

communities 

- Helps victims build self-esteem, develop safety 
plans, set goals, establish healthy boundaries, and 
analyze healthy relationships  

Access to Community Support 
Services: 

• Community Against Violence:  

- Provides emergency shelter to both adults and 
minors who are survivors of domestic violence 

• Haven House: 

- Provides informational programs about domestic 
violence 

- Attends health fairs to distribute materials 

regarding domestic violence 

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

 

Law: 

• New Mexico law does not require schools to provide 
education on teen dating violence in their curriculum  

Programs: 
 

• Haven House: 
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Sources: 

• Community Against Violence: http://www.taoscav.org/index.php 

• Haven House: https://www.havenhouseinc.org 

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit: States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order, 2015 

Source:  https://www.ncsl.org/research/health/teen-dating-
violence.aspx 

- Prepares and presents classes that cover domestic 
violence in-depth 

State Coalition: Called: Last Called N/A  

Knowledge of programs: N/A 
Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 

http://www.taoscav.org/index.php
https://www.havenhouseinc.org/
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf


New York 

Legal Age Statutes: Age of Majority: 18 

Eligibility for Emancipation: Not specified 
Contracts by Minors: If married and buying a home, providing 

medical care for self or child, if enlisted in the military  
Minors’ Ability to Sue: Through parent, guardian, adult spouse, 
or guardian ad litem 

Consent for Medical Treatment: If married, pregnant, have 
children, or in an emergency 

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

 
 

Who Can File: 

• It is not made clear whether a minor may file without an 

adult 
Relationship: 

• Those who are married or formerly married, individuals 

with mutual children, and people in an intimate relationship 
may file against each other 
- The relationship does not need to be sexual, but the 

frequency of interaction and the duration of the 
relationship will be taken into consideration when 

determining an intimate relationship 
- Must not be a casual acquaintance 

Teen-Specific Provisions: 

• The court may order the respondent to stay away from the 
home, school, business, place of employment, or any other 
frequently visited place of the petitioner 

Access to Legal Representation: 
 

Source:  https://njdc.info/practice-policy-resources/state-
profiles/newyork/ 

Law: 

• New York law only determines minors will be given legal 
representation in juvenile defense cases 

Programs: 

• N/A 

Access to Mental Health Services: 
 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

Source:  https://ndaa.org/wp-content/uploads/Minor-Consent-to-
Medical-Treatment-2.pdf 

 

Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 
New York law does not specify about mental health treatment, 
but is likely similar to medical health treatment requirements for 

minors  
Programs: 

• Rise: 
- Offers counseling services to survivors who are in their 

shelter or not 

- A Licensed Clinical Social Worker or Advocate will 
connect victims to additional counseling services if 
needed 

• Help Restore Hope Center: 
- 24-hour call hotline for Madison and Chenango 

Counties 

- Offers support groups and therapy to minors 
- Provides free services 

Access to Community Support 
Services: 

• Hudson Valley House of Hope: 
- Provides emergency shelter for adults and minors who 

are victims of domestic violence 
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Sources: 

• Rise: http://rise-ny.org/index.aspx 

• Help Restore Hope Center: http://helprestorehopecenter.org/# 

• Safe Against Violence: https://delawareopportunities.org/safe-against-violence 

• Hudson Valley House of Hope: http://www.hudsonvalleyhouseofhope.org/index.html 

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit: States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order, 2015 

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

 

Source:  https://www.ncsl.org/research/health/teen-dating-
violence.aspx 

Law: 

• New York Law does not state that teen dating violence 
education be in school curriculum  

Programs: 

• Safe Against Violence: 
- Offers educational programs aimed at preventing 

domestic violence and sexual assault 
- Available for school settings 

State Coalition: Called: N/A  
Knowledge of programs: N/A 

Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 

http://rise-ny.org/index.aspx
http://helprestorehopecenter.org/
https://delawareopportunities.org/safe-against-violence
http://www.hudsonvalleyhouseofhope.org/index.html
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf


North Carolina 

Legal Age Statutes: Age of Majority: 18 

Eligibility for Emancipation: Upon marriage, or may petition in 
court at age 16 

Contracts by Minors: May enter into a contract to finance higher 
education at 17 
Minors’ Ability to Sue: By guardian, testamentary guardian, or 

guardian ad litem 
Consent for Medical Treatment: Minors may consent for 
venereal disease, pregnancy, an emotional disturbance, or drug 

abuse. Additionally, any emancipated minor may consent to 
medical, dental, or health treatment 

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders:  

Who Can File: 

• A parent or guardian must file on behalf of a minor 
Relationship: 

• Current or Former spouses, any individuals of the opposite 
sex that have lived together, are related as parents and 

children, have a child in common, have or currently live 
together, or individuals who are the opposite sex and in a 

dating relationship may file against each other.  
Teen-Specific Provisions: 
The court may order the respondent to stay away from the 

petitioner’s home, school, place of work, or other specified 
places when the petitioner is present.  

Access to Legal Representation: 
 
 

https://njdc.info/practice-policy-resources/state-
profiles/northcarolina/ 

Law: 

• North Carolina law only specifies that minors in juvenile 

defense cases will be given legal representation 
Programs: 

• N/A  

Access to Mental Health Services: 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 

Source:  https://ndaa.org/wp-content/uploads/Minor-Consent-to-

Medical-Treatment-2.pdf 

Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• North Carolina law does not specifically mention minor’s 

ability to consent for mental health treatment 
Programs: 

• Child Advocacy and Services Enhancement Project 

(CASE): 
- Facilitated by the North Carolina Coalition 

Against Domestic Violence 

- Provides increased mental health access to minors 
who are exposed to or are victims of domestic 

violence 
- Trains advocates to screen minors for trauma and 

refer them to local resources 

Access to Community Support 
Services: 

• Coordinated Community Response 

- Part of the North Carolina Coalition Against 
Domestic Violence 

- Provides focus on victim services, prevention, and 

long-term help for survivors 
- Also provides community awareness and 

prevention campaigns  
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Sources: 

• DELTA Impact Prevention Project:https://nccadv.org/our-services/prevention 

• Child Advocacy and Services Enhancement Project (CASE): https://nccadv.org/our-

services/child-advocacy 

• Coordinated Community Response: https://nccadv.org/our-services/coordinated-community-

response 

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit: States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order, 2015 

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

 

 
 
 

 
 

 
Source:  https://www.ncsl.org/research/health/teen-dating-

violence.aspx 

Law: 

• North Carolina law does not make it mandatory that teen 
dating violence-based education be part of school 

curriculum 
Programs: 

• DELTA Impact Prevention Project: 

- Supports work in local schools 
- Aims to impact causes of violence including, 

family support and connectedness, gender norms, 

norms about aggression, and coordination of 
community resources 

- Promotes safe school environments, bystander 
intervention, and gender equity 

State Coalition: Called: N/A  
Knowledge of programs: N/A 

Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 

https://nccadv.org/our-services/prevention
https://nccadv.org/our-services/child-advocacy
https://nccadv.org/our-services/child-advocacy
https://nccadv.org/our-services/coordinated-community-response
https://nccadv.org/our-services/coordinated-community-response
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf


North Dakota 

Legal Age Statutes: Age of Majority: 18 

Eligibility for Emancipation: Through marriage or petition, but 
there is no statutory framework for emancipation 

Contracts by Minors: May be void within 1 year of reaching the 
age of majority 
Minors’ Ability to Sue: May sue or be sued, but must be 

appointed guardian ad litem  
Consent for Medical Treatment: Any minor may consent to 
emergency medical care. Otherwise, at 14, minors may consent 

for treatment of substance abuse or STDs 

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

 
 

Who Can File: 

• Code does not specify whether minors may file on their 
own 

Relationship: 

• Anyone currently or formerly married, parent, child, 
relatives by blood or marriage, those in a dating 

relationship, individuals with a mutual child, or anyone who 
currently or have lived together in the past, may file against 

each other.  
Teen-Specific Provisions: 
No school stay-away provision 

Access to Legal Representation: 
 

 
 
 

 
Source:  https://njdc.info/practice-policy-resources/state-

profiles/northdakota/ 

 

Law: 

• North Dakota law only mentions minors being given legal 
representation in indigent juvenile delinquency cases 

Programs: 

• The Community Violence Intervention Center: 
- Provides teens with assistance in obtaining court 

orders 

- Provides legal representation and advocacy in 
protection order and other civil cases 

Access to Mental Health Services: 
 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 

Source:  https://ndaa.org/wp-content/uploads/Minor-Consent-to-

Medical-Treatment-2.pdf 

Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• North Dakota law does not specifically mention minors’ 
ability to consent to mental health services 

Programs: 

• The Community Violence Intervention Center: 
- Provides a 24-hour crisis line and intervention 

- Youth advocates are available to provide safety 
planning and supportive listening 

- Offers evidence-based therapies to teens to 
overcome trauma  

- Some of these therapies include, Trauma Focused 

Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (TF-CBT), Eye 
Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing 
Therapy (EMDR), and Structured Psychotherapy 

for Adolescents Responding to Chronic Stress 
(SPARCS) group therapy.  

• Domestic Violence Crisis Center: 
- Provides free on-site trauma therapy services 
- Provides individual and group counseling 
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Sources: 

• The Community Violence Intervention Center: https://cviconline.org/if-you-need-

help/children-teens/our-services/ 

• Safe Shelter: https://www.safeshelterjamestown.org/teen-dating/ 

• Domestic Violence Crisis Center:  https://courage4change.org 

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit: States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order, 2015 

- Offers services to minors ages 6-17 in addition to 
adults. 

Access to Community Support 
Services: 

• The Community Violence Intervention Center: 

- Provides teens with shelter parental consent 
required 

- Assists minors obtain medical attention and 

community services 

• Safe Shelter: 
- Provides online resources to teens about healthy 

relationships, warning signs of abuse, how to assist 
friends in bad relationships, and more 

- Will also redirect teens to resources in their area 
for help 

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

 
Source:  https://www.ncsl.org/research/health/teen-dating-

violence.aspx 

Law: 

• North Dakota law does not mention teen dating violence 

education in schools 
Programs: 

• N/A 

State Coalition: Called: N/A  

Knowledge of programs: N/A 
Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 

https://cviconline.org/if-you-need-help/children-teens/our-services/
https://cviconline.org/if-you-need-help/children-teens/our-services/
https://www.safeshelterjamestown.org/teen-dating/
https://courage4change.org/
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf


Ohio 

Legal Age Statutes: Age of Majority: 18 

Eligibility for Emancipation: Not specified 
Contracts by Minors: Voidable; exceptions for necessaries 

Minors’ Ability to Sue: Through personal representative, next 
friend, or guardian ad litem 
Consent for Medical Treatment: Minors may consent to 

emergency medical services for victims; however, the hospital 
will give written notice to parents or guardians 

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

 
 

 

Who Can File: 

• Although not completely clear, it appears that minors may 

be able to file on their own behalf or have a parent file for 
them.  

Relationship: 

• Those who are or were married, currently or formerly living 
together, people with a mutual child, or those related by 
blood or marriage may file against one another.  

Teen-Specific Provisions: 

• The court may order the respondent to stay away from the 
petitioner’s home, school, business, and place of work.  

• Additionally, the court may order the respondent to stay 
away from the petitioner’s family or people who live with 

them.  

Access to Legal Representation: 
 

 
Source:  https://njdc.info/practice-policy-resources/state-

profiles/ohio/ 

Law: 

• Ohio law only provides minors in defense cases with legal 
representation 

Programs: 

• N/A 

Access to Mental Health Services: 
 

 
Source:  https://ndaa.org/wp-content/uploads/Minor-Consent-to-

Medical-Treatment-2.pdf 

Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• Ohio law does not specifically mention minors’ ability to 
consent to mental health treatment.  

Programs: 

• N/A 

Access to Community Support 
Services: 

• The Center for Family Safety and Healing 

- Offers online resources for teens experiencing 
dating violence. 

- Provides resources to help teens identify abuse in 
relationships 

- Includes a brochure for parents who may file on 

behalf of minors, as well as the number to contact 
their Training Coordinator 

• Ohio Domestic Violence Network: 

- Provides direction on how to file protection orders 
- Includes safety planning 

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

 
 

Law: 

• Ohio law requires school districts to include dating violence 

prevention education within their curriculum. Ohio Rev. 
Code Ann. §3313.60, 3313.666, and 3319.073 (2009 HB 
19) 
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Sources: 

• The Center for Family Safety and Healing: http://www.familysafetyandhealing.org/how-to-

help/a-teen-dating-abuse-victim/ 

• Be The One Ohio: https://icanbetheone.com 

• Ohio Domestic Violence Network: http://www.odvn.org/survivor/Children-and-Teens 

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit: States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order, 2015 

Source:  https://www.ncsl.org/research/health/teen-dating-
violence.aspx 

Programs: 

• Be The One Ohio: 
- Offers Teacher/Student activities as well as 

additional materials needed for classroom 
engagement 

State Coalition: Called: N/A 
Knowledge of programs: N/A 

Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 

http://www.familysafetyandhealing.org/how-to-help/a-teen-dating-abuse-victim/
http://www.familysafetyandhealing.org/how-to-help/a-teen-dating-abuse-victim/
https://icanbetheone.com/
http://www.odvn.org/survivor/Children-and-Teens
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf


Oklahoma 

Legal Age Statutes: Age of Majority: 18 

Eligibility for Emancipation: Through court order or marriage 
Contracts by Minors: Voidable within one year of reaching age 

of majority, with the exception of necessaries 
Minors’ Ability to Sue: By guardian, next friend, or 
representative 

Consent for Medical Treatment: May consent if married, a 
parent, for emergencies, if a  parent or pregnant, or for substance 
abuse treatment  

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

 

Who Can File: 

• Minors who are at least 16 may file on their own behalf.  
Relationship: 

• Current or former spouses, current spouses of ex-spouses, 

parents, individuals related by blood or marriage, those with 
mutual children, people who do or have lived together, or 
those in a dating relationship may be filed against. Dating 

relationship is defined as marriage or engagement and does 
not mean a casual acquaintance.  

Teen-Specific Provisions: No specific school stay-away 
provision 
 

Access to Legal Representation: 
 

 
 
 

Source:  https://njdc.info/practice-policy-resources/state-
profiles/oklahoma/ 

Law: 

• Oklahoma law only mentions providing minors involved in 
defense cases with representation  

Programs: 

• Okmulgee County Family Resource Center: 
- Provides Court Advocacy 
- Advocates assist with filing paperwork needed for 

protection orders 

Access to Mental Health Services: 
 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

Source:  https://ndaa.org/wp-content/uploads/Minor-Consent-to-
Medical-Treatment-2.pdf 

Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• Oklahoma law does not mention minor’s ability to consent 
to mental heal services. 

Programs: 

• Okmulgee County Family Resource Center: 
- Offers six support groups, weekly 

- Group environments combat feelings of isolation 
- Allowed to attend meetings whether or not the 

victim is still with their abuser 
- All services are confidential and free  

• Safenet Services: 

- Offers both family and individual counseling for 
youth up to 18 who have experienced verbal, 
physical, mental, or emotional violence 

- Assists teens develop a more positive outlook 
- Analyze negative thought patterns leading to 

feelings of self-worthlessness 

- Discover personal strengths and how to use them 

Access to Community Support 
Services: 

• Safenet Services: 
- Offers 24-hour crisis line in Rogers and Mayes 

Counties. 
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Sources: 

• Dating Matters: https://sde.ok.gov/youth-violence-prevention 

• Okmulgee County Family Resource Center: https://casasafehouse.org/our-services/ 

• Safenet Services: https://safenetservices.org/services/ 

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit: States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order, 2015 

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

 

 
 
 

 
 

 
Source:  https://www.ncsl.org/research/health/teen-dating-

violence.aspx 

Law: 

• Oklahoma law does not require schools to incorporate teen 
dating violence in their curriculum.  

Programs: 

• Dating Matters: 
- A free, online course available to educators, school 

personnel, and youth leaders. 
- Sponsored by the CDC 
- Describes teen dating violence and recommends 

strategies to prevent it. 

• Okmulgee County Family Resource Center: 
- Available for presentations in schools 

- Promotes awareness around violence 

State Coalition: Called: N/A 
Knowledge of programs: N/A 

Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 

https://sde.ok.gov/youth-violence-prevention
https://casasafehouse.org/our-services/
https://safenetservices.org/services/
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf


Oregon 

Legal Age Statutes: Age of Majority: 18 

Eligibility for Emancipation: By marriage or court order 
Contracts by Minors: Valid for necessaries and education 

Minors’ Ability to Sue: By guardian, guardian ad litem, or 
conservator  
Consent for Medical Treatment: 15 or older may consent to any 

treatment and 14 or older may consent to mental health or 
substance abuse treatments. Additionally, any age may consent 
to treatment for STDs 

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

 

Who Can File: 

• Minors may file on their own behalf but may not file 
against anyone under the age of 18.  

Relationship: 

• Current and former spouses, relatives by blood, adoption, or 
marriage, individuals who live or have lived together, those 
involved in a sexually intimate relationship within two 

years of filing, and people with a mutual child may file 
against each other.  

Teen-Specific Provisions: 

• No specific school stay-away provision 

Access to Legal Representation: 
 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 

Source:  https://njdc.info/practice-policy-resources/state-

profiles/oregon/ 

Law: 

• Oregon law only mentions giving legal representation to 
minors in defense cases 

Programs: 

• Center Against Rape and Domestic Violence (CARDV): 

- Provides assistance with acquiring protection 
orders 

- Accompaniment to court 

- Stations representatives in Linn and Benton 
counties 

• My Sisters’ Place: 

- Provides court accompaniment and legal advocacy 
- Also provides systems advocacy and rape victim 

advocacy  

Access to Mental Health Services: 
 

 
 
 

 
 

Source:  https://ndaa.org/wp-content/uploads/Minor-Consent-to-
Medical-Treatment-2.pdf 

Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• Oregon law doesn’t specify about mental health services; 
however, minors may consent to any medical treatment at 
age 15 

Programs: 

• Domestic Violence Resource Center:  
- Provides services to both adults and minors who 

are survivors of violence 
- Client-centered approach 

- All services available in English and Spanish 

Access to Community Support 
Services: 

• Center Against Rape and Domestic Violence (CARDV): 
- Partnered with ABC House to facilitate weekly 

support groups for middle school girls 

- Topics discussed included, staying safe online, 
positive self-image, and healthy relationships.  
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Sources: 

• Center Against Rape and Domestic Violence (CARDV): https://www.cardv.org 

• My Sisters’ Place: http://mysistersplace.us 

• Domestic Violence Resource Center: https://www.dvrc-or.org/get-help/ 

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit: States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order, 2015 

- Provides a safe discussion place for teens to talk 
about relationships. Whether that be dating, 
parents, teachers, peers, or others 

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

Law: 

• Directs each school district board to adopt policy related to 
teen dating violence (2012 Or. Laws, Chap. 69) 

Programs: 

• Center Against Rape and Domestic Violence (CARDV): 
- Receives requests from schools to speak with 

students about teen dating violence  

- Advocates facilitate discussions, offering help to 
anyone may need 

- Teachers keep dialogue going so topics can be 

revisited for further discussion 

State Coalition: Called: N/A  
Knowledge of programs: N/A 

Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 

https://www.cardv.org/
http://mysistersplace.us/
https://www.dvrc-or.org/get-help/
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf


Pennsylvania 

Legal Age Statutes: Age of Majority: 18 

Eligibility for Emancipation: Not specified  
Contracts by Minors: Voidable until 18, except for necessaries 

Minors’ Ability to Sue: 18 or older may be sued as an adult; 
minors must be represented by next friend, guardian, or 
guardian ad litem 

Consent for Medical Treatment: In an emergency that seeking to 
secure consent would jeopardize or delay necessary treatment 
for the patient  

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

 
 

Who Can File: 

• Any adult household member or guardian ad litem may file 
on behalf of a minor 

Relationship: 

• Current and former spouses, parents and children, siblings, 
and those involved in sexually intimate relationships may 
file against one another.  

Teen-Specific Provisions: 

• The court may order the respondent to stay away from the 
petitioner’s place of work, business, or school. 

Additionally, the respondent may be ordered to stay away 
from the petitioner’s family.  

Access to Legal Representation: Law: 

• Pennsylvania only mentions providing legal representation 
to minors in defense cases 

Programs: 

• Center for Victims:  
- Recognizes that navigating the legal process can 

be difficult 

- Offers to explain all steps of the process to victims 
- Provides court accompaniment  

• Blackburn Center: 

- Provides legal support and advocacy for protection 
order hearings  

- Provides court accompaniment  

Access to Mental Health Services: 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 

Source:  https://www.schoolhouseconnection.org/state-laws-on-

minor-consent-for-routine-medical-care/ 

Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• Pennsylvania law does not specifically mention minor’s 
ability to access mental health services.  

Programs: 

• Center for Victims 
- Provides individual and group therapies regardless 

of age 

- Provides an initial evaluation, short-term 
treatment, and ongoing treatment if needed 

• Blackburn Center: 
- Offers counseling to victims of violence 
- Offers therapy by appointment  

Access to Community Support 
Services: 

• Center for Victims: 
- Offers emergency shelters where staff will develop 

personalized safety plans with victims in need 
- Provides medical advocacy and accompaniment  
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Sources: 

• Pennsylvania Coalition Against Domestic Violence (PCADV): 

https://www.pcadv.org/resources/training/ 

• Center for Victims: https://www.centerforvictims.org/services/victim-services/ 

• Blackburn Center: https://www.blackburncenter.org/how-we-can-help 

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit: States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order, 2015 

- Assists victims in filing Protection From Abuse 
Orders 

• Blackburn Center: 

- Provides emergency shelter to victims of intimate 
partner violence 

- Offers medical advocacy and accompaniment 

- Weekly support groups for victims of violence 
- All services are available to minors  

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
Source:  https://www.ncsl.org/research/health/teen-dating-

violence.aspx 

Law: 

• Pennsylvania law (2010 Pa. Laws, Act 104) addresses the 
Public School Code of 1949 and provides for dating 
violence education.  

Programs: 

• Pennsylvania Coalition Against Domestic Violence 
(PCADV): 

- Provides training and technical support to 
educators on domestic violence  

- Provides training on prevention and healthy 

relationships 
- Trains on the impact of domestic violence on 

minors  

- Training can be requested directly through the 
coalition’s website 

State Coalition: Called: N/A  

Knowledge of programs: N/A 
Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 

https://www.pcadv.org/resources/training/
https://www.centerforvictims.org/services/victim-services/
https://www.blackburncenter.org/how-we-can-help
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf
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Rhode Island 

Legal Age Statutes: Age of Majority: 18 

Eligibility for Emancipation: Common law applies 
Contracts by Minors: For necessaries 

Minors’ Ability to Sue: By next friend, representative, or 
guardian ad litem 
Consent for Medical Treatment: If married or over 16  

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

 
 

Who Can File: 

• It is not made clear whether minors need someone to file on 
their behalf.  

Relationship: 

• Individuals who have children together, current and former 
spouses, relatives of blood or marriage, and anyone in a 
dating relationship may file against each other. The length 

of the relationship, the type of relationship, and the 
frequency of interaction are all used to determine what a 
dating relationship may be.  

Teen-Specific Provisions: 

• No specific school stay-away provision 

Access to Legal Representation: 
 
 

Source:  https://njdc.info/practice-policy-resources/state-
profiles/rhodeisland/ 

Law: 

• Rhode Island law only mentions providing legal 

representation to minors in defense cases  
Programs: 

• N/A 

Access to Mental Health Services: 
 
 

Source:  https://ndaa.org/wp-content/uploads/Minor-Consent-to-
Medical-Treatment-2.pdf 

Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• Rhode Island law does not mention mental health treatment 

specifically.  
Programs: 

• Domestic Violence Resource Center of South County: 

- Individual therapy sessions for victims of violence 

Access to Community Support 
Services: 

• Domestic Violence Resource Center of South County: 
- Offers a drop-in center providing safety planning, 

emergency cell phones, referrals, and additional 

resources 
- Bi-weekly support groups for teenage girls 

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 

Source:  https://www.ncsl.org/research/health/teen-dating-
violence.aspx 

Law: 

• Rhode Island law requires the Department of Education to 
assist school districts in developing policy for dating 
violence reporting and response. R.I. Gen Laws. §16-85, 

16-21-30, and 16-22-24 (2007 SB 875/HB 6166). 
Programs: 

• Sojourner House: 

- Develops specialized training to fit whatever 
audience is needed 

- Provides training to both students and educators 

- Covers a number of topics including teen dating 
violence 
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Sources: 

• Domestic Violence Resource Center of South County: https://www.dvrcsc.org/our-services 

• Sojourner House: http://www.sojournerri.org 

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit: States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order, 2015 

State Coalition: Called: N/A  
Knowledge of programs: N/A 
Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 

https://www.dvrcsc.org/our-services
http://www.sojournerri.org/
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf


South Carolina 

Legal Age Statutes: Age of Majority: 18 

Eligibility for Emancipation: By court petition, though there is 
no statute mentioning it specifically 

Contracts by Minors: For necessaries  
Minors’ Ability to Sue: Through guardian, next friend, or 
guardian ad litem 

Consent for Medical Treatment: At 16 minors may consent for 
themselves, although parent/guardian may be informed if doctor 
deems necessary. In emergencies, minors may not need consent 

either. 

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

 
 

Who Can File: 

• Someone must file on behalf of a minor 
Relationship: 

• Current and former spouses, people with mutual children, 
or a male and female who do or have lived together may 
file against one another.  

Teen-Specific Provisions: 

• The court may order the respondent to stay away from the 
petitioner’s home, place of work, school, or any other place 

the court orders. Additionally, the court may order that the 
respondent not to contact the petitioner.  

Access to Legal Representation: 
 
 

 
Source:  https://njdc.info/practice-policy-resources/state-

profiles/southcarolina/ 

Law: 

• North Carolina law only mentions providing representation 
to minors in defense cases 

Programs: 

• N/A 

Access to Mental Health Services: Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• South Carolina law does not specifically mention minors’ 
ability to consent for mental health services 

Programs: 

•  

Access to Community Support 
Services: 

• Sistercare:  
- Offers a 24-hour crisis line 

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

 

 
 
 

 
 

 
Source:  https://www.ncsl.org/research/health/teen-dating-

violence.aspx 

Law: 

• South Carolina law does not require schools to provide 
education on dating violence.  

Programs: 

• My Sister’s House:  
- Provides education to schools, churches, sororities, 

and fraternities about domestic violence 
- Can provide handouts and tailored training 

• Sistercare’s Teen Outreach Program (STOP): 

- Designed for middle schoolers and high schoolers 
- Promotes positive development through group 

discussions, guided presentations, and positive 

adult guidance 
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Sources:  

• My Sister’s House: https://www.mysistershouse.org 

• Sistercare’s Teen Outreach Program (STOP):  http://www.sistercare.org/we-can-

help/teen-help/ 

• Sistercare: http://www.sistercare.org/we-can-help/programs-services/ 

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit: States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order, 2015 

 

State Coalition: Called: N/A  
Knowledge of programs: N/A 
Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 

https://www.mysistershouse.org/
http://www.sistercare.org/we-can-help/teen-help/
http://www.sistercare.org/we-can-help/teen-help/
http://www.sistercare.org/we-can-help/programs-services/
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf


 

 

 

 

 

South Dakota: 

Legal Age Statutes: Age of Majority: 18 

Eligibility for Emancipation: Through marriage, military 
service, or court declaration of emancipation 

Contracts by Minors: May be void until the age of majority  
Minors’ Ability to Sue: Through parent, guardian, conservator, 
or guardian ad litem 

Consent for Medical Treatment: For STDs 

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

 
 

Who Can File: 

• It is unclear if minors need assistance when filing protection 
orders 

Relationship: 

• Current or former spouses, those in a significant 
relationship, anyone with mutual children, parents and 

children, and siblings may file against one another. 
Teen-Specific Provisions: 

• No school stay-away provision.  

Access to Legal Representation: 
 

 
Source:  https://njdc.info/practice-policy-resources/state-

profiles/southdakota/ 

Law: 

• South Dakota law only mentions providing legal 
representation to minors in defense cases 

Programs: 

• N/A 

Access to Mental Health Services: Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• South Dakota law does not mention minors ability to 
consent to mental health services 

Programs: 

• N/A 

Access to Community Support 
Services: 

• Safe Harbor: 
- Offers community education to church groups, 

civic organizations, and others  

- These education presentations include teen dating 
violence 

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

 
Source:  https://www.ncsl.org/research/health/teen-dating-

violence.aspx 

Law: 

• South Dakota law does not require schools to educate on 

dating violence.  
Programs: 

• Safe Harbor: 

- Classroom based education 
- Covers many topics including teen dating violence 

State Coalition: Called: N/A  
Knowledge of programs: N/A 

Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 
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Sources:  

• Safe Harbor: https://safeharborsd.org/get-informed/community-education/ 

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit: States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order, 2015 

 

https://safeharborsd.org/get-informed/community-education/
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf


Tennessee 

Legal Age Statutes: Age of Majority: 18 

Eligibility for Emancipation: By judicial petition 
Contracts by Minors: Common law 

Minors’ Ability to Sue: unknown  
Consent for Medical Treatment: unknown  

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

 
 

Who Can File: 

• Minors must have a parent or guardian file on their behalf 

Relationship: 

• Current and former spouses, those who have or still live 
together, individuals who have dated or had a sexual 

relationship, or relatives by blood, adoption, and marriage 
may file against each other.  

Teen-Specific Provisions: 

No school stay-away provision.  

Access to Legal Representation: Law: 

• Tennessee law only mentions minors being given legal 
representation in defense cases.  

Programs: 

• Avalon Center:  
- Provides free legal services to low-income victims 

- Clients must be referred by an advocate 
- Walks clients through the entire process and offers 

advocacy in all court proceedings.  

Access to Mental Health Services: Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• Tennessee law dose not mention minors’ ability to consent 
to mental health treatment.  

Programs: 

• Avalon Center: 
- Offers 24-hour crisis line that will inform victims 

on options, provide education and safety planning, 
and offer shelter if necessary 

- Provides free counseling to victims in 7 counties 

Access to Community Support 
Services: 

• Avalon Center: 

- Hosts support groups in 7 counties allowing 
environments of emotional support for victims to 
heal 

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

Law: 

• The Department of Education developed sexual and teen 
dating curriculum that must be presented at least once in 
grades 7 and 8 and at least once, preferably twice, in grades 

9 through 12. Tenn. Code Ann. §49.1-220 (2006 SB 595) 
Programs: 

• Abuse Alternatives Inc: 

- Offers educational presentations to local schools 
- Covers teen dating violence, healthy relationships, 

and safety planning 

- Can request other presentations as well 
- Information tables can be set up at schools 
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Sources:  

• Abuse Alternatives Inc:https://www.abusealternativesinc.org 

• Avalon Center: https://www.avaloncentertn.org/services 

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit: States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order, 2015 

 

State Coalition: Called: N/A  
Knowledge of programs: N/A 
Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 

https://www.abusealternativesinc.org/
https://www.avaloncentertn.org/services
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf


Texas 

Legal Age Statutes: Age of Majority: 18 

Eligibility for Emancipation: By marriage or at 16 if living 
separately from parents or guardian. 

Contracts by Minors: Common law 
Minors’ Ability to Sue: Next friend, guardian, or guardian ad 
litem 

Consent for Medical Treatment: If in the military or 16 years old 
and living separately from parents. Additionally, minors may 
consent to treatments for pregnancy, substance abuse, and 

infectious diseases 

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

 
 
 

 
 

Who Can File: 

• Minors may file protection orders on their own behalf 
against those they have been in a dating relationship with. 

For stalking and sexual assault, parents or a guardian will 
have to assist minors.  

Relationship: 

• Those in dating relationships may file against one another. 
The length of the relationship, the nature of the relationship, 

and the frequency of interaction will all be considered when 
determining the relationship. 

Teen-Specific Provisions: 

• The court may order the respondent to stay away from the 
petitioner’s home, school, or place the petitioner frequently 
visits.  

Access to Legal Representation: Law: 

• Texas law only mentions providing minors with legal 
representation in defense cases 

Programs: 

• Texas Advocacy Project: 
- Provides a call line where victims will provide 

information 

- An attorney will return the victims call to provide 
legal advice, more information that will be sent 

through the mail, referrals, and brief legal services.  

Access to Mental Health Services: Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• Texas law does not specifically mental minor’s access to 
mental health treatment  

Programs: 

• Stop Abuse for Everyone (SAFE): 
- Provides school-based support groups and 

counseling.  
- Provides a safe environment to identify 

qualities of healthy relationships 

-  

Access to Community Support 
Services: 

• Texas Advocacy Project: 
- Offers personalized safety plans 
- 24-hour hotline 
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Sources:  

• Stop Abuse for Everyone (SAFE): https://www.safeaustin.org/our-services/prevention-and-

education/expect-respect/school-based-support-groups-and-counseling/ 

• Texas Advocacy Project:https://www.texasadvocacyproject.org/power-based-abuse/what-

you-need-know/parents# 

• Teen Ambassadors of Hope:https://www.texasadvocacyproject.org/TAOH    

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit: States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order, 2015 

 

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

Law: 

• Texas law requires schools to develop and implement 
dating violence policy. Teachers and students receive 

awareness education. Schools are also responsible for 
enforcing protection orders from the court. Tex. Education 
Code Ann. §37.0821 (2007 HB121) 

Programs: 

• Teen Ambassadors of Hope:  
- Texas Advocacy project provides training on 

healthy relationships, teen dating violence, 
online safety, and leadership skills 

- Raises funds to support the free legal services 
of the Texas Advocacy Project 

- Promotes healthy relationships and safety to 

communities 

State Coalition: Called: N/A  
Knowledge of programs: N/A 
Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 

https://www.safeaustin.org/our-services/prevention-and-education/expect-respect/school-based-support-groups-and-counseling/
https://www.safeaustin.org/our-services/prevention-and-education/expect-respect/school-based-support-groups-and-counseling/
https://www.texasadvocacyproject.org/power-based-abuse/what-you-need-know/parents
https://www.texasadvocacyproject.org/power-based-abuse/what-you-need-know/parents
https://www.texasadvocacyproject.org/TAOH
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf


Utah 

Legal Age Statutes: Age of Majority: 18 

Eligibility for Emancipation: By marriage or petition through 
court at 16 

Contracts by Minors: For necessaries; can also contract for 
insurance at 16 
Minors’ Ability to Sue: Through guardian or guardian ad litem. 

At 14 minors may petition the court to appoint them guardian ad 
litem 
Consent for Medical Treatment: Minors may consent to 

treatment of STDs, as well as immunizations, if married, 
emancipated, or if a  parent/pregnant.  

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 

Who Can File: 

• Minors may file protection orders on their own at 16; 
however, dating relationships are not eligible for protection 
orders 

Relationship: 

• Current and former spouses, relatives by blood or marriage, 
those with mutual children, and those who have or still live 

together may file against each other.  
Teen-Specific Provisions: 

• The court may order the respondent to stay away from the 

petitioner’s home, school, place of work, or any other place 
frequently visited. Additionally, the court may order the 
respondent to stay away from the petitioner’s family and 

household members.  

Access to Legal Representation: 
 
 

Source:  https://njdc.info/practice-policy-resources/state-

profiles/utah/ 

Law: 

• Utah law only mentions providing legal representation to 
minors in defense cases.  

Programs: 

• N/A 

Access to Mental Health Services: Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• Utah law does not mention  
Programs: 

• Peace Home: 
- Offers individual therapy 
- 12, 60-minute sessions  

- Services victims of violence 
- Offers a 24-hour helpline  

Access to Community Support 
Services: 

• Peace Home: 
- Provides support groups to discuss shared 

experiences 
- Services victims of violence.  

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

 
 

 
Source:  https://www.ncsl.org/research/health/teen-dating-

violence.aspx 

Law: 

• Utah law does not require there to be teen dating violence 
education in schools 

Programs: 

• New Hope Crisis Center: 
- Does presentations for schools and community 

groups 
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Sources:  

• New Hope Crisis Center: https://newhopecrisiscenter.org/advocacy-active-support/ 

• Peace House: https://peacehouse.org/services/   

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit: States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order, 2015 

- Covers topics including dating violence and 
healthy relationships 

• Peace House:  

- Provides education to grades K-12 
- Covers many topics including healthy relationships 

and dating violence prevention 

State Coalition: Called: N/A  

Knowledge of programs: N/A 
Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 

https://newhopecrisiscenter.org/advocacy-active-support/
https://peacehouse.org/services/
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf


Vermont 

Legal Age Statutes: Age of Majority: 18 

Eligibility for Emancipation: Yes 
Contracts by Minors: Common law 

Minors’ Ability to Sue: By representative, next friend, or 
guardian ad litem 
Consent for Medical Treatment: At 12, minors may consent to 

treatment for STDs, drug dependence, and alcohol abuse. 
Parents will be informed of treatment 

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

Who Can File: 

• Minors will need a parent or guardian to file on their behalf  

Relationship: 

• Those who currently or have lived together in the past, 
anyone involved in a sexual relationship, and individuals in 

a dating relationship may file against each other. The nature 
of the relationship, length of relationship, frequency of 
interaction, and time since termination of the relationship 

will all be taken into consideration when defining a dating 
relationship.  

Teen-Specific Provisions: 

• No school stay-away provision 

Access to Legal Representation: 
 
 

Source:  https://njdc.info/vermont/ 

Law: 

• Vermont law only mentions providing legal representation 
to minors in defense cases.  

Programs: 

• N/A  

Access to Mental Health Services: 
 
 

 
 

 
Source:  https://www.schoolhouseconnection.org/state-laws-on-

minor-consent-for-routine-medical-care/ 

Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• Vermont law does not mention minor’s access to mental 
health services specifically 

Programs: 

• Voices Against Violence: 
- 24-Hour crisis line to offer support and 

information to victims 

- Advocates on the line to refer victims to proper 
services. 

Access to Community Support 
Services: 

• Safeline:  
- Offers detailed safety planning 

- Health care advocacy 

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

 

Source:  https://www.ncsl.org/research/health/teen-dating-
violence.aspx 

Law: 

• Vermont law does not require schools to educate students 
on dating violence.  

Programs: 

• Safeline: 
- Facilitates educational sessions at schools and 

community groups 

• Voices Against Violence:  
- Provides education to students, educators, 

community agencies, businesses, among others. 
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Sources:  

• Safeline: https://www.safelinevt.org/services 

• Voices Against Violence: https://www.voicesagainstviolence.org/get-help/    

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit: States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order, 2015 

 

 

State Coalition: Called: N/A  
Knowledge of programs: N/A 
Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 

https://www.safelinevt.org/services
https://www.voicesagainstviolence.org/get-help/
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf


Virginia 

Legal Age Statutes: Age of Majority: 18 

Eligibility for Emancipation: By judicial petition at 16 
Contracts by Minors: Common law 

Minors’ Ability to Sue: By next friend or guardian ad litem  
Consent for Medical Treatment: Minors may consent to 
treatment for STDs, substance abuse, mental illness, or 

pregnancy. Married minors may consent to all treatment 

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

 
 

Who Can File: 

• Only emancipated minors may file protection orders 
Relationship: 

• Current and former spouses, relatives by blood or marriage, 
those with mutual children, and anyone who lives together 
or who has lived together in the last 12 months, may file 

against one another. Dating relationships are not eligible. 
Teen-Specific Provisions: 

• No school stay-away provision 

Access to Legal Representation: 
 

 
Source:  https://virginiarules.org/varules_topics/legal-rights-of-

juveniles/ 

Law: 

• Virginia law only mentions providing legal representation 
to minors in defense cases.  

Programs: 

• N/A 

Access to Mental Health Services: 
 

 
 
 

 
 

Source:  https://www.schoolhouseconnection.org/state-laws-on-

minor-consent-for-routine-medical-care/ 

Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• Virginia law does not mention mental health treatment 
access, specifically, for minors.  

Programs: 

• Action in Community Through Service (ACTS): 
- Provides individual and group services 
- Groups are age appropriate 

- Individual therapy offered by appointment 
- Group therapies run one night a week for 15 weeks 

Access to Community Support 
Services: 

• Choices:  
- Provides teen education on dating relationships in 

the format of support groups 

- Focuses on self-esteem, sexual harassment, and 
building healthy relationships.  

• Doorways: 
- Offers online resources and information about teen 

dating violence 

- Provides tips for teens to help themselves and 
others out of unhealthy relationships 

- Provides information to parents to assist their 

children with protection orders 
- Refers teens to external resources for assistance 

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

Law: 

• Virginia law requires school divisions must include 

education on dating violence in their curriculum. 2011 Va. 
Acts, Chap. 634 & Va. Code Ann. § 22.1-207.1 (2007 HB 

1916) 
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Sources: 

• Action in Community Through Service (ACTS): Break the Cycle: 

https://www.actspwc.org/services/domestic-violence#cp 

• Choices: https://choicesofpagecounty.org/programs-services/ 

• Arlington’s Healthy Relationship Task Force (HRT): https://www.doorwaysva.org/our-

work/education-advocacy/the-facts-about-domestic-violence/teen-dating-violence/ 

• Doorways: https://www.doorwaysva.org 

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit: States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order, 2015 

 

 

 

Programs: 

• Arlington’s Healthy Relationship Task Force (HRT): 
- Comprised of students of all Arlington high 

schools 
- Meets monthly throughout Arlington public 

schools to raise awareness about dating violence 

and healthy relationships 
- Open to youth 14-21 

State Coalition: Called: N/A  

Knowledge of programs: N/A 
Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 

https://www.actspwc.org/services/domestic-violence#cp
https://choicesofpagecounty.org/programs-services/
https://www.doorwaysva.org/our-work/education-advocacy/the-facts-about-domestic-violence/teen-dating-violence/
https://www.doorwaysva.org/our-work/education-advocacy/the-facts-about-domestic-violence/teen-dating-violence/
https://www.doorwaysva.org/
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf


Washington 

Legal Age Statutes: Age of Majority: 18 

Eligibility for Emancipation: By judicial petition at 16 
Contracts by Minors: For necessaries  

Minors’ Ability to Sue: If 14 or over, minors may apply for 
court appointed guardian; if under 14, application must be made 
by relative or friend  

Consent for Medical Treatment: Not specified 

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 

Who Can File: 

• Minors may file on their own behalf at 16   
Relationship: 

• Current and former spouses, current and former domestic 
partners, those with mutual children, those who are related 
by marriage or blood, individuals who currently or have 

lived together, and those in a dating relationship may file 
against each other. The length of the relationship, the nature 
of the relationship, and the frequency of interaction may all 

be taken into consideration when defining a dating 
relationship.  

Teen-Specific Provisions: 

• The court may order the respondent to stay away from any 
shared dwellings with the respondent, and to stay away 

from the petitioner’s home, workplace, school, or 
daycare/school of children 

Access to Legal Representation: Law: 

• Washington law does not mention minors’ access to legal 

representation except in defense cases 
Programs: 

• YWCA of Lewiston/Clarkston: 

- Provides legal advocacy to victims to assist them 
through the civic and legal process 

• Forks Abuse Program: 

- Offers legal advocacy, providing court 
accompaniment and assistance with protection 
orders 

Access to Mental Health Services: 
 

 
 
 

Source:   
https://depts.washington.edu/hcsats/PDF/guidelines/Minors% 

20Health%20Care%20Rights%20Washington%20State.pdf 

Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• At 13, minors may consent to inpatient and outpatient 
mental health treatment services. 

Programs: 

• Forks Abuse Programs: 
- Offers weekly, open support groups, encouraging 

victims to share their thoughts 

- Allows for growth and comfort in a supportive 
environment 

Access to Community Support 
Services: 

• Forks Abuse Program: 
- Offers systems advocacy, to help victims work 

with social service systems. 
- Offers safety planning, personalized to help 

victims ensure their safety 
- Provides medical advocacy, assisting victims with 

securing appointments, and sitting in on exams if 

the victim would be more comfortable.  

https://depts.washington.edu/hcsats/PDF/guidelines/Minors%25
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Sources: 

• YWCA of Lewiston/Clarkston: https://ywcaidaho.org 

• Forks Abuse Program: http://forksabuseprogram.org 

• New Beginnings:  https://www.newbegin.org 

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit: States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order, 2015  

 

 

• New Beginnings: 
- Has a teen specific advocate serving victims aged 

13-19 

- The advocate can meet teens in an agreed upon, 
safe location  

- Services are free of charge and cater specifically to 

each person’s needs 
- Offers safety planning, emotional support, 

information on additional services, and coaching 
on how to speak to adults capable of providing 
help 

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
Source:  https://www.ncsl.org/research/health/teen-dating-

violence.aspx 

Law: 

• Washington law requires the state school superintendent to 
develop curriculum including instruction on dating 
violence, among other topics Wash. Rev. Code 

§28A.300.185 (2005 HB 1252) 
Programs: 

• New Beginnings:  

- Offers single and multi-session healthy 
relationship and dating abuse prevention education 

- Offered to middle and high school students 

through school and youth-serving agencies 
- Covers healthy and respectful relationships, 

warning signs of abuse, boundaries, and consent 
among others.  

State Coalition: Called: N/A  
Knowledge of programs: N/A 

Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 

https://ywcaidaho.org/
http://forksabuseprogram.org/
https://www.newbegin.org/
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf


West Virginia 

Legal Age Statutes: Age of Majority: 18 

Eligibility for Emancipation: By marriage, or at 16 through 
court petition 

Contracts by Minors: Common law 
Minors’ Ability to Sue: By next friend, guardian, or guardian ad 
litem 

Consent for Medical Treatment: Not specified  

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

 
 

 

 
 
 

 
 

Who Can File: 

• Minors must have an adult family or household member file 
on their behalf 

Relationship: 

• Current and former spouses, those who are or have been 
sexual partners, individuals living in the same household, 

those with mutual children, relatives by blood or marriage, 
and those in a dating relationship may file against each 
other. Casual acquaintance does not qualify as a dating 

relationship 
Teen-Specific Provisions: 

• The court may order the respondent to stay away from the 
petitioner’s school, place of work, home, and family 
members 

Access to Legal Representation: 
 
 

Source:  https://njdc.info/practice-policy-resources/state-
profiles/westvirginia/ 

Law: 

• West Virginia law only mentions providing legal 
representation to minors in defense cases 

Programs: 

• N/A  

Access to Mental Health Services: 
 
 

Source:  http://www.courtswv.gov/public-resources/guardians-
treatment-of-minors.html 

Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• Minors will need a parent or guardian to consent on their 
behalf for any mental health services 

Programs: 

• N/A 

Access to Community Support 
Services: 

• Women’s Resource Center:  
- 24-hour hotline for victims in need 

- Offers online resources that define dating violence, 
view the consequences, and analyze why it 

happens 

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

 

 
 
 

 
Source:  https://www.ncsl.org/research/health/teen-dating-

violence.aspx 

Law: 

• West Virginia law does not require teen dating violence 
education to be in their schools’ curriculum.  

Programs: 

• Branches, Inc.: 
- Offers Safe Dates program to students in middle 

school, high school, and college. 
- Branches’ specialists travel schools and other 

organizations in the community to provide 

information on dating violence and offer 
information on how to prevent it.  
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Sources:  

• Branches, Inc: https://www.branchesdvs.org 

• Women’s Resource Center: http://www.wrcwv.org/gethelp/datingviolence.html 

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit: States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order, 2015 

 

 

 

 

 

State Coalition: Called: N/A  
Knowledge of programs: N/A 
Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 

https://www.branchesdvs.org/
http://www.wrcwv.org/gethelp/datingviolence.html
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf


Wisconsin 

Legal Age Statutes: Age of Majority: 18 

Eligibility for Emancipation: By marriage unless 
incompetent  

Contracts by Minors: For necessaries  
Minors’ Ability to Sue: By guardian or guardian ad 
litem  

Consent for Medical Treatment: Not specified  

Access to Protection from Abuse Orders: 
 

Who Can File: 

• Minors are unable to obtain protection from abuse 
orders  

Relationship: 

• N/A 
Teen-Specific Provisions: 

• No school stay-away provisions 

Access to Legal Representation: 
 

 
Source:  https://njdc.info/practice-policy-resources/state-

profiles/wisconsin/ 

Law: 

• Wisconsin law only mentions providing legal 
representation to minors in defense cases.  

Programs: 

• N/A 

Access to Mental Health Services: 

 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 

Source:  
https://www.uwhealth.org/files/uwhealth/docs/pdf6/minors_legal_grid.pdf 

Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• Minors 14 and older must have parental consent 
for mental health treatment. It appears that minors 

under 14 cannot receive mental health treatment.  
Programs: 

• Dove Inc: 

- Offers counseling to adolescents who 
have experienced dating violence 

• Orenda Center:  

- Offers support groups 
- Individual advocacy 
- Parent & Child support groups 

• Friends, Inc: 
- Offers advocacy and Art Therapy 
- Therapy is available in both individual 

and group formats 
- Topics include healthy relationships, 

self-care, coping, and the cycle of 
violence 

- Offered at the main Friends facility or at 

the teen’s school 
- All services are free and offered 

confidentially 

Access to Community Support Services: • Haven Inc: 

- Offers teen support groups  

• New Day Advocacy Center: 
- Offers online resources about teen dating 

violence 
- Provides victims with ways to recognize 

abuse 
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Sources: 

• SAFE Dates: https://www.boltonrefuge.org/youth-family-advocacy 

• Dove Inc.: https://www.boltonrefuge.org/youth-family-advocacy 

• Haven Inc: http://www.haveninc.org/home.cfm 

• New Day Advocacy Center: http://www.ndshelter.org/teen-dating-violence.html 

• Orenda Center:  http://pdcmarshfield.org/services/youth-advocacy-program.php 

• Friends, Inc: https://friendswi.wixsite.com/friendswi/teen-services  

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit: States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order, 2015 

 

- Refers victims to external, national 
resources 

Educational Requirements and Program 
Availability: 

 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
Source:  https://www.ncsl.org/research/health/teen-dating-violence.aspx 

Law: 

• Wisconsin law does not require teen dating 
violence education to be in school curriculum. 

Programs: 

• Safe Dates 
- Offered to all schools and other youth 

programs in Eau Clarie County 

- Teaches adolescence about dating 
violence and healthy relationships  

• Haven Inc. 

- Works with schools and other 
organizations 

- Provides presentations and resources that 

promotes respect, empathy, and equality 
in relationships 

- Individualized planning to ensure 
information is age appropriate 

- Covers dating violence 

- Free of charge, 

State Coalition: Called: N/A  
Knowledge of programs: N/A 

Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 

https://www.boltonrefuge.org/youth-family-advocacy
https://www.boltonrefuge.org/youth-family-advocacy
http://www.haveninc.org/home.cfm
http://www.ndshelter.org/teen-dating-violence.html
http://pdcmarshfield.org/services/youth-advocacy-program.php
https://friendswi.wixsite.com/friendswi/teen-services
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf


Wyoming 

Legal Age Statutes: Age of Majority: 18 

Eligibility for Emancipation: Through marriage, military 
service, or if living separately from parents and supporting 

oneself at age 17 
Contracts by Minors: Not specified 
Minors’ Ability to Sue: By guardian, conservator, committee, 

next friend, or guardian ad litem  
Consent for Medical Treatment: If living apart from parents and 
self-supporting, emancipated, married, or served in the military 

Access to Protection from Abuse 
Orders: 

 
 
 
 

Who Can File: 

• It is unclear if minors are able to file for protection orders 
on their own 

Relationship: 

• Current and former spouses, those who live or have lived 
together, parents and their adult children, other adults 
sharing the same living space, and those in a dating 

relationship may file against one another 
Teen-Specific Provisions: 

• No specific school stay-away provision 

Access to Legal Representation: 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

Source:  https://njdc.info/practice-policy-resources/state-
profiles/wyoming/ 

Law: 

• Wyoming law only mentions providing minors in defense 
cases with legal representation 

Programs: 

• Converse Hope Center:  
- Provides assistance and support to victims in 

attaining protection orders 
- Offers court support and assistance 

• The Turning Point: 

- Court and Criminal justice advocacy 
- Advocate will go over legal proceedings and 

accompany the petitioner to court  

- Assist in filling out and filing protection orders.   

Access to Mental Health Services: 
 
 

Source:  https://www.schoolhouseconnection.org/state-laws-on-

minor-consent-for-routine-medical-care/ 

Minor Consent for Mental Health Treatment: 

• Wyoming law does not specifically mention minors’ ability 
to consent to mental health treatment.  

Programs: 

• Carbon County Cove: 
- Offers referrals for counseling 

- Counseling sessions available in both individual 
and group formats 

Access to Community Support 
Services: 

• Carbon County Cove: 
- Provides advocacy and support to victims 

- Offers a 24-hour crisis hotline 

• Converse Hope Center:  
- Assists teens in developing safety planning 

- Offers resources assistance and referrals 
- Has confidential, after hours telephone assistance  

• The Turning Point: 

- Offers a 24-hour hotline that can be called 7 days a 
week 
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Sources: 

• Carbon County Cove: http://www.carboncountycove.com 

• Converse Hope Center: https://www.conversehope.org/services 

• The Turning Point: https://turningpointlincolncounty.org/overview-of-services  

• Wyoming Families First: http://www.wyofams.org/teenhealthydating.htm 

• Sublette County Sexual Assault and Family Violence Task Force: 

https://www.sublettesafv.org/teens-youth  

• Break the Cycle: 2010 State Law Report Cards National Survey of Teen Dating Violence 

Laws 

• Battered Women’s Justice Project, National Center of Protection Orders and Full Faith & 

Credit: States Allowing Juveniles to Access Protection Order , 2015 

 

- Individual advocacy for victims that includes 
safety planning, and listening to concerns  

- Works with several agencies, ensuring victims get 

the assistance they need.  

• Sublette County Sexual Assault and Family Violence Task 
Force: 

- Offers in-depth online resources to teens to help 
identify unhealthy relationships 

- Referrals to national resources on teen dating 
violence  

 

Educational Requirements and 
Program Availability: 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 

Source:  https://www.ncsl.org/research/health/teen-dating-

violence.aspx 

Law: 

• Wyoming law does not require schools to incorporate teen 
dating violence education in their curriculum.  

Programs: 

• The Turning Point:  
- Offers school programs and community trainings 
- Available upon request  

• Wyoming Families First: 
- Offers a dating violence prevention education 

program in Laramie, Park, and Fremont counties 

- Available to junior high and high school students 
- Helps teens recognize healthy relationship 

behaviors compared to unhealthy ones 

- Uses preventative education to sustain lifelong, 
healthy relationships 

State Coalition: Called: N/A  

Knowledge of programs: N/A 
Knowledge of level of success/costs of programs: N/A 

http://www.carboncountycove.com/
https://www.conversehope.org/services
https://turningpointlincolncounty.org/overview-of-services
http://www.wyofams.org/teenhealthydating.htm
https://www.sublettesafv.org/teens-youth
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.breakthecycle.org/sites/default/files/pdf/2010-Dating-Violence-State-Law-Report-Card-Full-Report.pdf
https://www.bwjp.org/assets/documents/pdfs/ncpoffc-states-allowing-juveniles-to-access-po.pdf
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